Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In
Books LikeLittle House on the Prairie

Books like Little House on the Prairie

Enjoyed Little House on the Prairie? We’ve scoured the web for book blogs and looked at all of their recommendations for books that are similar to Little House on the Prairie. Here are 71 books that you may like if you liked Little House on the Prairie.

71 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
Sarah, Plain and Tall
Patricia MacLachlan - Mar 03, 2015 (first published in 1985)
Goodreads Rating
This Newbery Medal-winning book and children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss, and love. The 30th Anniversary edition includes author Patr...
Understood Betsy
Dorothy Canfield Fisher - Oct 15, 1999 (first published in 1916)
Goodreads Rating
For all of her nine years, fragile Elizabeth Ann has heard her Aunt Frances refer in whispers to her "horrid Putney cousins." But when her aunt can no longer care for her, Elizabeth Ann must leave her sheltered life to live in the wilds of Vermont with those distant relatives.In the beginning, Elizabeth Ann is shocked by country living--pets are al...
Confessions of a Prairie Bitch
How I Survived Nellie Oleson and Learned to Love Being Hated
Alison Arngrim - Jun 14, 2011 (first published in 2010)
Goodreads Rating
Confessions of a Prairie Bitch is Alison Arngrim’s comic memoir of growing up as one of television’s most memorable characters—the devious Nellie Oleson on the hit television show Little House on the Prairie. With behind-the-scenes stories from the set, as well as tales from her bohemian upbringing in West Hollywood and her headline-making advocacy...
Little House in Brookfield
Maria D Wilkes - May 01, 2007 (first published in 1996)
Goodreads Rating
The first book in the Caroline Years series, the story of Caroline Quiner—the girl who grew up to be Ma Ingalls in  the beloved Little House series. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It’s a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom....
Pioneer Girl
The Annotated Autobiography
Laura Ingalls Wilder - Dec 30, 2014
Goodreads Rating
Pioneer Girl follows the Ingalls family's journey through Kansas, Missouri, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Iowa, back to Minnesota, and on to Dakota Territory sixteen years of travels, unforgettable experiences, and the everyday people who became immortal through Wilder's fiction. Using additional manuscripts, letters, photographs, newspapers, and other sou...
Caroline
Little House, Revisited
Sarah Miller - Jun 12, 2018 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
USA Today Bestseller!One of Refinery29's Best Reads of SeptemberIn this novel authorized by the Little House Heritage Trust, Sarah Miller vividly recreates the beauty, hardship, and joys of the frontier in a dazzling work of historical fiction, a captivating story that illuminates one courageous, resilient, and loving pioneer woman as never before—...
A Wilder Rose
A Novel
Susan Wittig Albert - Mar 17, 2015 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
The Little House books, which chronicled the pioneer adventures of Laura Ingalls Wilder, are among the most beloved books in the American literary canon. Lesser known is the secret, concealed for decades, of how they came to be. Now, bestselling author Susan Wittig Albert reimagines the fascinating story of Laura’s daughter, Rose Wilder Lane, an in...
Educated
A Memoir
The Horus Heresy Series
Tara Westover - Feb 20, 2018
Goodreads Rating
Tara Westover was 17 the first time she set foot in a classroom. Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, she prepared for the end of the world by stockpiling home-canned peaches and sleeping with her "head-for-the-hills bag". In the summer she stewed herbs for her mother, a midwife and healer, and in the winter she salvaged in her father's ...
Where the Crawdads Sing
Delia Owens - Mar 30, 2021 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
A novel about a young woman determined to make her way in the wilds of North Carolina, and the two men that will break her isolation open.For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She's barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found ...
The Little House
Laura Ingalls Wilder - May 30, 1994
Goodreads Rating
The set includes: Little House in the Big Woods, Little House on the Prairie, Farmer Boy, On the Banks of Plum Creek, By the Shores of Silver Lake, The Long Winter, Little Town on the Prairie, These Happy Golden Years, and The First Four Years. Little House in the Big WoodsWolves and panthers and bears roam the deep Wisconsin woods in the late 1870...
The Glass Castle
A Memoir
Jeannette Walls - Jan 17, 2006 (first published in 2005)
Goodreads Rating
A tender, moving tale of unconditional love in a family that, despite its profound flaws, gave the author the fiery determination to carve out a successful life on her own terms.Jeannette Walls grew up with parents whose ideals and stubborn nonconformity were both their curse and their salvation. Rex and Rose Mary Walls had four children. In the be...
Recommended by
Hannah Hart
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe by Fannie Flagg
Little House 5-Book Collection by Laura Ingalls Wilder
On the Banks of Plum Creek by Laura Ingalls Wilder
Prairie Lotus by Linda Sue Park
Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard
The Little House Cookbook by Barbara M Walker
In Grandma's Attic by Arleta Richardson
My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George
Betsy-Tacy by Maud Hart Lovelace
Old Town in the Green Groves by Cynthia Rylant
Grandfather's Dance by Patricia MacLachlan
The Porcupine Year by Louise Erdrich
A Little House Picture Book Treasury by Laura Ingalls Wilder
My Prairie Cookbook by Melissa Gilbert
Little House in the Highlands by Melissa Wiley
The Birchbark House by Louise Erdrich
Happy Little Family by Rebecca Caudill
The World of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Marta McDowell
100 Ways to Love Your Husband/Wife Bundle by Matt Jacobson
Love, Mary Elisabeth by Christy Martenson
Boston Jane by Jennifer L. Holm
Up a Road Slowly by Irene Hunt
Frontier House by Simon Shaw
Lumber Camp Library by Natalie Kinsey-Warnock
Voyage on the Great Titanic by Ellen Emerson White
Hattie Big Sky by Kirby Larson
Little House by Boston Bay by Melissa Wiley
Caleb's Story by Patricia MacLachlan
SkylarkHarper Trophy by Patricia Maclachlan
More Perfect than the Moon by Patricia MacLachlan
A Long Way From Chicago by Richard Peck
Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones
The Detective's Assistant by Kate Hannigan
Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis
Little House on Rocky Ridge by Roger Lea MacBride
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. Schmidt
The Homesman by Glendon Swarthout
Blue Mountain by Martine Leavitt
The Cabin Faced West by Jean Fritz
Bright Island by Mabel L. Robinson
Bo at Ballard Creek by Kirkpatrick Hill
The Oregon Trail by Rinker Buck
May B. by Caroline Starr Rose
Our Only May Amelia by Jennifer L Holm
Hattie Ever After by Kirby Larson
The Bears on Hemlock Mountain by Alice Dalgliesh
Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse
Thimble Summer by Elizabeth Enright
The Ballad of Lucy Whipple by Karen Cushman
West of the Moon by Margi Preus
The Cure for Death by Lightning by Gail Anderson-dargatz
The Thing About Luck by Cynthia Kadohata
Prairie Tale by Melissa Gilbert
In the Footsteps of Crazy Horse by Joseph Marshall
Preacher's Boy by Katherine Paterson
Re Jane by Patricia Park
The Wilder Life by Wendy McClure
Pioneer Girl by Bich Minh Nguyen
Turkey Red by Esther Loewen Vogt
Flat Broke with Two Goats by Jennifer McGaha