Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Best Spy Books

Recommendations from 10 articles, Richard Branson, Anthony Bourdain, Ben Shapiro and 6 others.
16 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
John le Carré - Jul 04, 2019 (first published in 1963)
Goodreads Rating
In this classic, John le Carre's third novel and the first to earn him international acclaim, he created a world unlike any previously experienced in suspense fiction. With unsurpassed knowledge culled from his years in British Intelligence, le Carre brings to light the shadowy dealings of international espionage in the tale of a British agent who ...
Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
A George Smiley Novel
John le Carré - Mar 31, 2020 (first published in 1974)
Goodreads Rating
From the New York Times bestselling author of A Legacy of Spies. John le Carré's new novel, Agent Running in the Field, is coming October 2019.The man he knew as "Control" is dead, and the young Turks who forced him out now run the Circus. But George Smiley isn't quite ready for retirement--especially when a pretty, would-be defector surfaces with ...
The Secret Agent
Joseph Conrad - Aug 04, 2014 (first published in 1907)
Goodreads Rating
Few people realize that Joseph Conrad invented the terrorist-spy genre in 1907 with his novella 'The Secret Agent: A Simple Tale.' 'The Secret Agent' was one of the 'the three works of literature most cited in the American media' around the two weeks following September 11, 2001.' The story is set in London in 1886 and deals largely with the life o...
The Day of the Jackal
Frederick Forsyth - May 29, 2018 (first published in 1971)
Goodreads Rating
A tall, blond Englishman with opaque, gray eyes. A killer at the top of his profession. A man unknown to any secret service in the world. An assassin with a contract to kill the world's most heavily guarded man.One man with a rifle who can change the course of history. One man whose mission is so secretive not even his employers know his name. And ...
Recommended by
Ben Shapiro
Level 4
The Bourne Identity Book and MP3 Pack (Pearson English Graded Readers)
AA.VV - Jan 01, 2013
Goodreads Rating
[Penguin Readers Level 4]Paperback. Language: English Publisher:... Pearson The man has been shot many times Who wants to kill him. and why The man cant remember As he begins to learn about his past. he becomes even more confused Does he have a future Or will he be killed before he knows who - or what - he really is...
Berlin Game
Len Deighton - Nov 12, 1983
Goodreads Rating
When a valuable agent behind the Iron Curtain signals he wants out, it's up to Bernard Samson, once active in the field but now anchored to a London desk, to undertake the crucial rescue. But soon, Samson is confronted with evidence that there is a traitor among his colleagues. And to find out who it is, he must sift through layers of lies and foll...
The Quiet American
Graham Greene - Aug 31, 2004 (first published in 1955)
Goodreads Rating
Graham Greene's classic exploration of love, innocence, and morality in Vietnam"I never knew a man who had better motives for all the trouble he caused," Graham Greene's narrator Fowler remarks of Alden Pyle, the eponymous "Quiet American" of what is perhaps the most controversial novel of his career. Pyle is the brash young idealist sent out by Wa...
Red Sparrow
A Novel (1) (The Red Sparrow Trilogy)
Jason Matthews - Dec 09, 2014
Goodreads Rating
In the grand spy-tale tradition of John le Carré comes this shocking thriller written with insider detail known only to a veteran CIA officer. In present-day Russia, ruled by blue-eyed, unblinking President Vladimir Putin, Russian intelligence officer Dominika Egorova struggles to survive in the post-Soviet intelligence jungle. Ordered against her ...
Secret Service
Tom Bradby - Dec 12, 2019
Goodreads Rating
A Sunday Times top 10 bestseller, Secret Service is a fresh-from-the-headlines thriller for fans of Homeland, Crisis and ...
Our Man in Havana
Graham Greene - Jan 01, 2001 (first published in 1958)
Goodreads Rating
Mr. Wormold, vacuum cleaner salesman in a city of powercuts, is, as always, short of money. His daughter, sixteen, followed everywhere by wolf whistles, is spending his money with a skill that amazes him, so when a mysterious Englishman offers him an extra income he's tempted. All he has to do is run agents, file reports: spy. But his fake reports ...
Agent Running in the Field
A Novel
John le Carré - Oct 22, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Nat, a 47 year-old veteran of Britain’s Secret Intelligence Service, believes his years as an agent runner are over. He is back in London with his wife, the long-suffering Prue. But with the growing threat from Moscow Centre, the office has one more job for him. Nat is to take over The Haven, a defunct substation of London General with a rag-tag ba...
A Coffin for Dimitrios by Eric Ambler
Hue and Cry by Patricia Wentworth
Slow Horses by Mick Herron
Ashenden by W. Somerset Maugham
The Innocent by Ian McEwan