Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Andrew Adonis

journalist
politician

Recommended Books

Andrew Adonis, Baron Adonis PC is a British Labour Party politician, academic and journalist who served in the UK government for five years as part of the Blair ministry and the Brown ministry.
7 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Home Truths
The UK's chronic housing shortage - how it happened, why it matters and the way to solve it
Liam Halligan - Nov 05, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Housing is increasingly unaffordable in many parts of the UK, with prices and rents rising much faster than earnings because, over many decades, far too few homes have been built. Since the 2008 financial crisis, the homes shortage has become more acute sending housing affordability to the top of the political agenda. Combining analysis with report...
Andrew Adonis
Sep 08, 2020
Today’s book - lots of interesting ideas on housing & planning by ⁦@LiamHalligan⁩. Liam is a fan of Henry George, as am I !     source
Hidden Hand
Exposing How the Chinese Communist Party is Reshaping the World
Clive Hamilton - Jun 09, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The Chinese Communist Party is determined to reshape the world in its image. The party is not interested in democracy. It sees only a bitter ideological struggle with the West, dividing the world into those who can be won over, and enemies. Many political and business elites have already been lured to their corner; others are weighing up a devil’s ...
Andrew Adonis
Aug 03, 2020
Important new book on the Xi Jinping dictatorship     source
Who Owns History?
Elgin's Loot and the Case for Returning Plundered Treasure
Geoffrey Robertson QC - Jan 01, 2020 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Geoffrey Robertson QC examines the debate of ownership surrounding the Elgin Marbles, and goes on to describe a system for the return of cultural property based on human rights law principles that are being developed by the courts. An exploration of how the past can be experienced by everyone, as well as by the people of the country of origin....
Andrew Adonis
Aug 03, 2020
The end of censorship in Britain. A wonderful story of the seminal Lady Chatterly trial of 1960, in Geoffrey Robertson’s fascinating ‘Who Owns History’, a seminal book on the politics of culture     source
Swimming in the Dark
A Novel
Tomasz Jedrowski - Apr 28, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Set in early 1980s Poland against the violent decline of communism, a tender and passionate story of first love between two young men who eventually find themselves on opposite sides of the political divide—a stunningly poetic and heartrending literary debut for fans of Andre Aciman, Garth Greenwell, and Alan Hollinghurst.When university student Lu...
Andrew Adonis
Aug 02, 2020
Today’s book. Mesmerising     source
Shadow State
Murder, Mayhem, and Russia's Remaking of the West
Luke Harding - Jun 30, 2020
Goodreads Rating
A thrilling account of how Russia is waging a hidden war against America and the West, using espionage, corruption, fake news, and KGB-style murderMarch 2018. Two Russian assassins arrive in a provincial English city to kill a former officer from Russia’s GRU intelligence agency. His crime? Passing secrets to British spies. The poison? A lethal ner...
Andrew Adonis
Jul 24, 2020
‘Putin, an intelligence officer in east Germany in the 1980s, turned himself into today’s Czar by means of kleptomania & techniques of international destabilisation inherited from the Soviet Union. It is brilliantly described in ⁦@lukeharding1968⁩’s new book Shadow State’     source
The Fall of the Red Wall
'The Labour Party no longer represents people like us'
Steve Rayson - Jul 15, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Why did thousands of lifelong Labour voters in the party’s heartland seats abandon the party in the 2019 General Election? Simple explanations like ‘Brexit’ and ‘Corbyn’ dramatically underestimate the importance of longer term trends, and the changing public narrative in these communities. This is the story of one of the most remarkable shifts in...
Andrew Adonis
Jul 13, 2020
Labour should move its HQ to the Midlands or North: eg Birmingham New Street, in the space about to be vacated by John Lewis closing. Vital Keir Starner & team are based out of London Every Labour strategist should also read @steverayson’s compelling new book on the Red Wall     source
The Anarchy
The East India Company, Corporate Violence, and the Pillage of an Empire
William Dalrymple - Sep 10, 2019
Goodreads Rating
The story of how the East India Company took over large swaths of Asia, and the devastating results of the corporation running a country.In August 1765, the East India Company defeated the young Mughal emperor and set up, in his place, a government run by English traders who collected taxes through means of a private army.The creation of this new g...
Andrew Adonis
Jan 06, 2020
Anyone who thinks there’s much good to say about the British Empire should read @DalrympleWill’s brilliant book on the East India Company. A long tale of plunder, extortion, war & murder Maybe the ‘dominions’ are different, but not for indigenous peoples of Australia & N Zealand     source