Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Andrew Adonis

journalist
politician

Recommended Books

Andrew Adonis, Baron Adonis PC is a British Labour Party politician, academic and journalist who served in the UK government for five years as part of the Blair ministry and the Brown ministry.
14 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Snobs
A Novel
Julian Fellowes - May 08, 2012 (first published in 2004)
Goodreads Rating
From the creator of the Emmy Award-winning Downton Abbey..."The English, of all classes as it happens, are addicted to exclusivity. Leave three Englishmen in a room and they will invent a rule that prevents a fourth joining them."The best comedies of manners are often deceptively simple, seamlessly blending social critique with character and story....
Andrew Adonis
Aug 11, 2021
Today’s book. Very insightful on the world of Boris Johnson and this generation of Etonians      source
Dweller in Shadows
A Life of Ivor Gurney
Kate Kennedy - Jul 13, 2021
Goodreads Rating
The first comprehensive biography of an extraordinary English poet and composer whose life was haunted by fighting in the First World War and, later, confinement in a mental asylumIvor Gurney (1890-1937) wrote some of the most anthologized poems of the First World War and composed some of the greatest works in the English song repertoire, such as "...
Andrew Adonis
Jul 15, 2021
Today’s book. Fascinating, tragic      source
Checkmate in Berlin
The Cold War Showdown That Shaped the Modern World
Giles Milton - Jul 13, 2021
Goodreads Rating
From a master of popular history, the lively, immersive story of the race to seize Berlin in the aftermath of World War II as it’s never been told before BERLIN’S FATE WAS SEALED AT THE 1945 YALTA CONFERENCE: the city, along with the rest of Germany, was to be carved up among the victorious powers— the United States, Britain, France, and the Soviet...
Andrew Adonis
May 18, 2021
Today’s book by ⁦@GilesMilton1⁩. The determination of Ernie Bevin, Labour’s great postwar Foreign Secretary, to prevent Stalin advancing into west Germany and then Western Europe was the critical backdrop to the successful defence of West Berlin after 1945      source
Hard Choices
May 13, 2021
Goodreads Rating
Andrew Adonis
May 04, 2021
Really optimistic and forward looking book by ⁦@LordRickettsP⁩, ex-head of the diplomatic service. Brexit has been a setback: what we need now is ‘international cooperation and solidarity’, which is in Britain’s lifeblood, including a rebuilding of our relations with Europe      source
Radical Wordsworth
The Poet Who Changed the World
Jonathan Bate - May 19, 2020
Goodreads Rating
On the 250th anniversary of Wordsworth’s birth comes a highly imaginative and vivid portrait of a revolutionary poet who embodied the spirit of his agePublished in time for the 250th anniversary of William Wordsworth’s birth, this is the biography of a great poetic genius, a revolutionary who changed the world. Wordsworth rejoiced in the French Rev...
Andrew Adonis
Oct 25, 2020
Today’s book. Jonathan Bate makes strong case for Wordsworth as in many ways the first modern Green - ‘Love of Nature leading to Love of Mankind’ being a dominant theme of The Prelude, which Coleridge said was ‘a sort of experience like the effect of lightening’      source
Home Truths
The UK's chronic housing shortage - how it happened, why it matters and the way to solve it
Liam Halligan - Nov 05, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Housing is increasingly unaffordable in many parts of the UK, with prices and rents rising much faster than earnings because, over many decades, far too few homes have been built. Since the 2008 financial crisis, the homes shortage has become more acute sending housing affordability to the top of the political agenda. Combining analysis with report...
Andrew Adonis
Sep 08, 2020
Today’s book - lots of interesting ideas on housing & planning by ⁦@LiamHalligan⁩. Liam is a fan of Henry George, as am I !      source
In Command of History
Churchill Fighting and Writing the Second World War
David Reynolds - Nov 27, 2007 (first published in 2004)
Goodreads Rating
Winston Churchill fought the World War II twice over-first as Prime Minister during the war, and then later as the war's premier historian. From 1948-54, he published six volumes of memoirs. They secured his reputation and shaped our understanding of the conflict to this day. Drawing on the drafts of Churchill's manuscript as well as his correspond...
Andrew Adonis
Aug 24, 2020
Today’s book. Re-reading it: my note inside says I first read it during the 2005 Labour party conference! A very great work of historical interpretation and recreation      source
Hidden Hand
Exposing How the Chinese Communist Party is Reshaping the World
Clive Hamilton - Jun 09, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The Chinese Communist Party is determined to reshape the world in its image. The party is not interested in democracy. It sees only a bitter ideological struggle with the West, dividing the world into those who can be won over, and enemies. Many political and business elites have already been lured to their corner; others are weighing up a devil’s ...
Andrew Adonis
Aug 03, 2020
Important new book on the Xi Jinping dictatorship      source
Who Owns History?
Elgin's Loot and the Case for Returning Plundered Treasure
Geoffrey Robertson Qc - Jan 01, 2020 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Geoffrey Robertson QC examines the debate of ownership surrounding the Elgin Marbles, and goes on to describe a system for the return of cultural property based on human rights law principles that are being developed by the courts. An exploration of how the past can be experienced by everyone, as well as by the people of the country of origin....
Andrew Adonis
Aug 03, 2020
The end of censorship in Britain. A wonderful story of the seminal Lady Chatterly trial of 1960, in Geoffrey Robertson’s fascinating ‘Who Owns History’, a seminal book on the politics of culture      source
Swimming in the Dark
A Novel
Tomasz Jedrowski - Apr 28, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Set in early 1980s Poland against the violent decline of communism, a tender and passionate story of first love between two young men who eventually find themselves on opposite sides of the political divide—a stunningly poetic and heartrending literary debut for fans of Andre Aciman, Garth Greenwell, and Alan Hollinghurst.When university student Lu...
Andrew Adonis
Aug 02, 2020
Today’s book. Mesmerising      source
Shadow State
Murder, Mayhem, and Russia's Remaking of the West
Luke Harding - Jun 30, 2020
Goodreads Rating
A thrilling account of how Russia is waging a hidden war against America and the West, using espionage, corruption, fake news, and KGB-style murderMarch 2018. Two Russian assassins arrive in a provincial English city to kill a former officer from Russia’s GRU intelligence agency. His crime? Passing secrets to British spies. The poison? A lethal ner...
Andrew Adonis
Jul 24, 2020
‘Putin, an intelligence officer in east Germany in the 1980s, turned himself into today’s Czar by means of kleptomania & techniques of international destabilisation inherited from the Soviet Union. It is brilliantly described in ⁦@lukeharding1968⁩’s new book Shadow State’      source
The Fall of the Red Wall by Steve Rayson
The Anarchy by William Dalrymple
Appeasement by Tim Bouverie