Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Andrew Adonis

journalist
politician

Recommended Books

Andrew Adonis, Baron Adonis PC is a British Labour Party politician, academic and journalist who served in the UK government for five years as part of the Blair ministry and the Brown ministry.
12 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Checkmate in Berlin
The Cold War Showdown That Shaped the Modern World
Giles Milton - Jul 13, 2021
Goodreads Rating
From a master of popular history, the lively, immersive story of the race to seize Berlin in the aftermath of World War II as it’s never been told before BERLIN’S FATE WAS SEALED AT THE 1945 YALTA CONFERENCE: the city, along with the rest of Germany, was to be carved up among the victorious powers— the United States, Britain, France, and the Soviet...
Andrew Adonis
May 18, 2021
Today’s book by ⁦@GilesMilton1⁩. The determination of Ernie Bevin, Labour’s great postwar Foreign Secretary, to prevent Stalin advancing into west Germany and then Western Europe was the critical backdrop to the successful defence of West Berlin after 1945      source
Hard Choices
May 13, 2021
Goodreads Rating
Andrew Adonis
May 04, 2021
Really optimistic and forward looking book by ⁦@LordRickettsP⁩, ex-head of the diplomatic service. Brexit has been a setback: what we need now is ‘international cooperation and solidarity’, which is in Britain’s lifeblood, including a rebuilding of our relations with Europe      source
Radical Wordsworth
The Poet Who Changed the World
Jonathan Bate - May 19, 2020
Goodreads Rating
On the 250th anniversary of Wordsworth’s birth comes a highly imaginative and vivid portrait of a revolutionary poet who embodied the spirit of his agePublished in time for the 250th anniversary of William Wordsworth’s birth, this is the biography of a great poetic genius, a revolutionary who changed the world. Wordsworth rejoiced in the French Rev...
Andrew Adonis
Oct 25, 2020
Today’s book. Jonathan Bate makes strong case for Wordsworth as in many ways the first modern Green - ‘Love of Nature leading to Love of Mankind’ being a dominant theme of The Prelude, which Coleridge said was ‘a sort of experience like the effect of lightening’      source
Home Truths
The UK's chronic housing shortage - how it happened, why it matters and the way to solve it
Liam Halligan - Nov 05, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Housing is increasingly unaffordable in many parts of the UK, with prices and rents rising much faster than earnings because, over many decades, far too few homes have been built. Since the 2008 financial crisis, the homes shortage has become more acute sending housing affordability to the top of the political agenda. Combining analysis with report...
Andrew Adonis
Sep 08, 2020
Today’s book - lots of interesting ideas on housing & planning by ⁦@LiamHalligan⁩. Liam is a fan of Henry George, as am I !      source
In Command of History
Churchill Fighting and Writing the Second World War
David Reynolds - Nov 27, 2007 (first published in 2004)
Goodreads Rating
Winston Churchill fought the World War II twice over-first as Prime Minister during the war, and then later as the war's premier historian. From 1948-54, he published six volumes of memoirs. They secured his reputation and shaped our understanding of the conflict to this day. Drawing on the drafts of Churchill's manuscript as well as his correspond...
Andrew Adonis
Aug 24, 2020
Today’s book. Re-reading it: my note inside says I first read it during the 2005 Labour party conference! A very great work of historical interpretation and recreation      source
Hidden Hand
Exposing How the Chinese Communist Party is Reshaping the World
Clive Hamilton - Jun 09, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The Chinese Communist Party is determined to reshape the world in its image. The party is not interested in democracy. It sees only a bitter ideological struggle with the West, dividing the world into those who can be won over, and enemies. Many political and business elites have already been lured to their corner; others are weighing up a devil’s ...
Andrew Adonis
Aug 03, 2020
Important new book on the Xi Jinping dictatorship      source
Who Owns History?
Elgin's Loot and the Case for Returning Plundered Treasure
Geoffrey Robertson Qc - Jan 01, 2020 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Geoffrey Robertson QC examines the debate of ownership surrounding the Elgin Marbles, and goes on to describe a system for the return of cultural property based on human rights law principles that are being developed by the courts. An exploration of how the past can be experienced by everyone, as well as by the people of the country of origin....
Andrew Adonis
Aug 03, 2020
The end of censorship in Britain. A wonderful story of the seminal Lady Chatterly trial of 1960, in Geoffrey Robertson’s fascinating ‘Who Owns History’, a seminal book on the politics of culture      source
Swimming in the Dark
A Novel
Tomasz Jedrowski - Apr 28, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Set in early 1980s Poland against the violent decline of communism, a tender and passionate story of first love between two young men who eventually find themselves on opposite sides of the political divide—a stunningly poetic and heartrending literary debut for fans of Andre Aciman, Garth Greenwell, and Alan Hollinghurst.When university student Lu...
Andrew Adonis
Aug 02, 2020
Today’s book. Mesmerising      source
Shadow State
Murder, Mayhem, and Russia's Remaking of the West
Luke Harding - Jun 30, 2020
Goodreads Rating
A thrilling account of how Russia is waging a hidden war against America and the West, using espionage, corruption, fake news, and KGB-style murderMarch 2018. Two Russian assassins arrive in a provincial English city to kill a former officer from Russia’s GRU intelligence agency. His crime? Passing secrets to British spies. The poison? A lethal ner...
Andrew Adonis
Jul 24, 2020
‘Putin, an intelligence officer in east Germany in the 1980s, turned himself into today’s Czar by means of kleptomania & techniques of international destabilisation inherited from the Soviet Union. It is brilliantly described in ⁦@lukeharding1968⁩’s new book Shadow State’      source
The Fall of the Red Wall
'The Labour Party no longer represents people like us'
Steve Rayson - Jul 15, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Why did thousands of lifelong Labour voters in the party’s heartland seats abandon the party in the 2019 General Election? Simple explanations like ‘Brexit’ and ‘Corbyn’ dramatically underestimate the importance of longer term trends, and the changing public narrative in these communities. This is the story of one of the most remarkable shifts in...
Andrew Adonis
Jul 13, 2020
Labour should move its HQ to the Midlands or North: eg Birmingham New Street, in the space about to be vacated by John Lewis closing. Vital Keir Starner & team are based out of London Every Labour strategist should also read @steverayson’s compelling new book on the Red Wall      source
The Anarchy
The East India Company, Corporate Violence, and the Pillage of an Empire
William Dalrymple - Sep 10, 2019
Goodreads Rating
The story of how the East India Company took over large swaths of Asia, and the devastating results of the corporation running a country.In August 1765, the East India Company defeated the young Mughal emperor and set up, in his place, a government run by English traders who collected taxes through means of a private army.The creation of this new g...
Andrew Adonis
Jan 06, 2020
Anyone who thinks there’s much good to say about the British Empire should read @DalrympleWill’s brilliant book on the East India Company. A long tale of plunder, extortion, war & murder Maybe the ‘dominions’ are different, but not for indigenous peoples of Australia & N Zealand      source
Appeasement by Tim Bouverie