Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Daniel José Older

author

Recommended Books

Daniel José Older is an American fantasy and young adult fiction writer.
8 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
The English Patient
Michael Ondaatje - Nov 30, 1993 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
An alternate cover for this ISBN can be found here.With unsettling beauty and intelligence, Michael Ondaatje's Booker Prize-winning novel traces the intersection of four damaged lives in an abandoned Italian villa at the end of World War II. The nurse Hana, exhausted by death, obsessively tends to her last surviving patient. Caravaggio, the thief, ...
Daniel José Older
Feb 28, 2021
There are so many but The English Patient comes to mind first. The movie really...did something different. But that book...whew.      source
Dear Senthuran
A Black Spirit Memoir
Akwaeke Emezi - Jun 08, 2021
Goodreads Rating
"[One] of our greatest living writers." --Shondaland ...
Daniel José Older
Jan 21, 2021
This is a book that is so crucial and category defying I don't even know where to start. Everything Akwaeke does is like that, and with DS they take it to another level. Must read for all writers and humans. Period.      source
Wings of Ebony
J. Elle - Jan 26, 2021
Goodreads Rating
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry--and with evil sinking its claws into humans and gods alike, she'll have to unearth the magic of her true identity to save both her worlds. Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi Adeyemi, and The Hunger Games.“M...
Daniel José Older
Nov 09, 2020
fantastic news! I love this book #WingsOfEbony      source
The Cross of Redemption
Uncollected Writings (Vintage International)
James Baldwin - Sep 06, 2011
Goodreads Rating
The Cross of Redemption is a revelation by an American literary master: a gathering of essays, articles, polemics, reviews, and interviews that have never before appeared in book form. James Baldwin was one of the most brilliant and provocative literary figures of the past century, renowned for his fierce engagement with issues haunting our common ...
Daniel José Older
Sep 21, 2020
The whole book is so incredible and an excellent way to jump into Baldwin's work if you haven't yet      source
The Death of Vivek Oji
A Novel
Akwaeke Emezi - Aug 04, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Named one of the year’s most anticipated books by The New York Times, Harper’s Bazaar, BuzzFeed, and moreWhat does it mean for a family to lose a child they never really knew?One afternoon, in a town in southeastern Nigeria, a mother opens her front door to discover her son’s body, wrapped in colorful fabric, at her feet. What follows is the tumult...
Daniel José Older
Aug 17, 2020
@dancingofpens I found it very life affirming. I'm not big on depressing books and I genuinly loved it and didnt feel weighed down by it      source
Trouble the Saints
A Novel
Alaya Dawn Johnson - Jul 21, 2020
Goodreads Rating
The dangerous magic of The Night Circus meets the powerful historical exploration of The Underground Railroad in this timely and unsettling novel, set against the darkly glamorous backdrop of New York City at the dawn of WWII.Amidst the whir of city life, a girl from Harlem is drawn into the glittering underworld of Manhattan, where she’s hired to ...
Daniel José Older
Jul 21, 2020
This book is AMAZING. happy pub day @alayadj!!      source
King of Scars
Leigh Bardugo - Jan 29, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Nikolai Lantsov has always had a gift for the impossible. No one knows what he endured in his countrys bloody civil warand he intends to keep it that way. Now, as enemies gather at his weakened borders, the young king must find a way to refill Ravkas coffers, forge new alliances, and stop a rising threat to the once-great Grisha Army.Yet with every...
Daniel José Older
Mar 30, 2020
I just sent fanmail to Leigh Bardugo. That's how good that book was. I had to put it all in an email, how much I loved it. #KingOfScars      source
The Cruel Prince
The Folk of the Air Series
Holly Black - Dec 04, 2018
Goodreads Rating
By #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black, the first book in a stunning new series about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a web of royal faerie intrigue. Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever....
Daniel José Older
Feb 21, 2020
Morning hotel coffee with this incredible book that has enveloped me completely @hollyblack ✨😈💙      source