Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Daniel José Older

Recommended Books

Daniel José Older is an American fantasy and young adult fiction writer.
9 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Psalms For The End Of The World book cover
Psalms For The End Of The World
'Ingenious and compelling' THE TIMES
Cole Haddon - 2022-09-01
Daniel José Older
2022-09-01T19:38:25.000Z
I absolutely adored the first chapter of #PsalmsForTheEndOfTheWorld by @colehaddon -- weird, mysterious, vibrant, surprising --and can't wait to read the rest ✨✨✨ happy release week to you Cole! Thrilled this book is out in the world 🔥      source
Also recommended by
Mike Denison
The English Patient book cover
The English Patient
Michael Ondaatje - 1993-11-30 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
An alternate cover for this ISBN can be found here.With unsettling beauty and intelligence, Michael Ondaatje's Booker Prize-winning novel traces the intersection of four damaged lives in an abandoned Italian villa at the end of World War II. The nurse Hana, exhausted by death, obsessively tends to her last surviving patient. Caravaggio, the thief, ...
Daniel José Older
2021-02-28T05:21:24.000Z
There are so many but The English Patient comes to mind first. The movie really...did something different. But that book...whew.      source
Dear Senthuran book cover
Dear Senthuran
A Black Spirit Memoir
Akwaeke Emezi - 2021-06-08
Goodreads Rating
"[One] of our greatest living writers." --Shondaland A full-throated and provocative memoir in letters from the New York Times-bestselling author, "a dazzling literary talent whose works cut to the quick of the spiritual self." --EsquireIn three critically acclaimed novels, Akwaeke Emezi has introduced readers to a landscape marked by familial tens...
Daniel José Older
2021-01-21T19:15:36.000Z
This is a book that is so crucial and category defying I don't even know where to start. Everything Akwaeke does is like that, and with DS they take it to another level. Must read for all writers and humans. Period.      source
Wings of Ebony book cover
Wings of Ebony
J. Elle - 2021-01-26
Goodreads Rating
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry--and with evil sinking its claws into humans and gods alike, she'll have to unearth the magic of her true identity to save both her worlds. Perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Tomi Adeyemi, and The Hunger Games.“M...
Daniel José Older
2020-11-09T17:20:11.000Z
fantastic news! I love this book #WingsOfEbony      source
The Cross of Redemption book cover
The Cross of Redemption
Uncollected Writings (Vintage International)
James Baldwin - 2011-09-06
Goodreads Rating
The Cross of Redemption is a revelation by an American literary master: a gathering of essays, articles, polemics, reviews, and interviews that have never before appeared in book form. James Baldwin was one of the most brilliant and provocative literary figures of the past century, renowned for his fierce engagement with issues haunting our common ...
Daniel José Older
2020-09-21T22:07:03.000Z
The whole book is so incredible and an excellent way to jump into Baldwin's work if you haven't yet      source
The Death of Vivek Oji book cover
The Death of Vivek Oji
A Novel
Akwaeke Emezi - 2020-08-04
Goodreads Rating
Named one of the year’s most anticipated books by The New York Times, Harper’s Bazaar, BuzzFeed, and moreWhat does it mean for a family to lose a child they never really knew?One afternoon, in a town in southeastern Nigeria, a mother opens her front door to discover her son’s body, wrapped in colorful fabric, at her feet. What follows is the tumult...
Daniel José Older
2020-08-17T22:41:24.000Z
@dancingofpens I found it very life affirming. I'm not big on depressing books and I genuinly loved it and didnt feel weighed down by it      source
Trouble the Saints book cover
Trouble the Saints
A Novel
Alaya Dawn Johnson - 2020-07-21
Goodreads Rating
The dangerous magic of The Night Circus meets the powerful historical exploration of The Underground Railroad in this timely and unsettling novel, set against the darkly glamorous backdrop of New York City at the dawn of WWII.Amidst the whir of city life, a girl from Harlem is drawn into the glittering underworld of Manhattan, where she’s hired to ...
Daniel José Older
2020-07-21T18:03:33.000Z
This book is AMAZING. happy pub day @alayadj!!      source
King of Scars book cover
King of Scars
Leigh Bardugo - 2019-01-29
Goodreads Rating
Nikolai Lantsov has always had a gift for the impossible. No one knows what he endured in his countrys bloody civil warand he intends to keep it that way. Now, as enemies gather at his weakened borders, the young king must find a way to refill Ravkas coffers, forge new alliances, and stop a rising threat to the once-great Grisha Army.Yet with every...
Daniel José Older
2020-03-30T20:48:21.000Z
I just sent fanmail to Leigh Bardugo. That's how good that book was. I had to put it all in an email, how much I loved it. #KingOfScars      source
The Cruel Prince book cover
The Cruel Prince
Holly Black - 2018-12-04
Goodreads Rating
By #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black, the first book in a stunning new series about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a web of royal faerie intrigue. Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever. And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him mor...
Daniel José Older
2020-02-21T15:15:38.000Z
Morning hotel coffee with this incredible book that has enveloped me completely @hollyblack ✨😈💙      source