Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Talia Lavin

author
journalist

Recommended Books

5 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Moby Dick
Herman Melville - Jul 09, 2020 (first published in 1851)
Goodreads Rating
Moby-Dick is an 1851 novel by Herman Melville. The story tells the adventures of the wandering sailor Ishmael and his voyage on the whaling ship Pequod, commanded by Captain Ahab. Ishmael soon learns that Ahab seeks one specific whale, Moby-Dick, a white whale of tremendous size and ferocity. Comparatively few whaling ships know of Moby-Dick, and f...
Talia Lavin
Nov 28, 2020
@DabenoCrow ive read and loved older books! moby dick is my favorite book. stoker just isnt that good a writer!     source
Appears in 0 articles
Death in the Air
The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City
Kate Winkler Dawson - Nov 13, 2018 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. London was still recovering from the devastation of World War II when another disaster hit: for five lo...
Talia Lavin
Sep 14, 2020
@spindlypete the book "death in the air" by kate dawson - about the london smog and also about a serial killer operating during it - was INCREDIBLE (like devil and the white city its clear the author's real interest is in smog legislation, leavened with a bit of murder most foule)     source
Wolf Hall
Hilary Mantel - Aug 31, 2010 (first published in 2009)
Goodreads Rating
WINNER OF THE 2009 MAN BOOKER PRIZEWINNER OF THE NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FOR FICTIONA NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLEREngland in the 1520s is a heartbeat from disaster. If the king dies without a male heir, the country could be destroyed by civil war. Henry VIII wants to annul his marriage of twenty years and marry Anne Boleyn. The pope and mos...
Talia Lavin
Sep 07, 2020
@LCosmonaut647 i am rereading wolf hall (a perfect book) and bring up the bodies to prepare for the mirror and the light which i havent read yet     source
The Torah Anthology
Book of Eicha (lamentations);(Me'am Lo'ez Series)
Shmuel Yerushalmi - Aug 01, 1990
Goodreads Rating
Includes Evening Service And Kinos...
Talia Lavin
Jul 30, 2020
Lamentations is one of several books of the Torah that has a unique cantillation when read publicly (sort of like musical notes, cantillation/trop dictates your inflections). it is particularly beautiful in my mind     source
Say Nothing
A True Story of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland
Patrick Radden Keefe - Feb 25, 2020 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
From award-winning New Yorker staff writer Patrick Radden Keefe, a stunning, intricate narrative about a notorious killing in Northern Ireland and its devastating repercussionsIn December 1972, Jean McConville, a thirty-eight-year-old mother of ten, was dragged from her Belfast home by masked intruders, her children clinging to her legs. They never...
Talia Lavin
Dec 13, 2019
fellow audiobook freaks.... this book is amazing and the reader is AMAZING     source