Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Talia Lavin

author
journalist

Recommended Books

13 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Equal Rites
A Discworld Novel (Discworld Novels)
Discworld Series
Terry Pratchett - Sep 13, 2005 (first published in 1987)
Goodreads Rating
On Discworld, a dying wizard tries to pass on his powers to an eighth son of an eighth son, who is just at that moment being born. The fact that the son is actually a daughter is discovered just a little too late. The town witch insists on turning the baby into a perfectly normal witch, thus mending the magical damage of the wizard's mistake. But n...
Talia Lavin
Mar 15, 2021
@aisling_bn its such a sweet good book tho      source
Men at Arms
Discworld Series
Terry Pratchett - Mar 01, 2014 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
'Be a MAN in the City Watch! The City Watch needs MEN!'But what it's got includes Corporal Carrot (technically a dwarf), Lance-constable Cuddy (really a dwarf), Lance-constable Detritus (a troll), Lance-constable Angua (a woman ... most of the time) and Corporal Nobbs (disqualified from the human race for shoving).And they need all the help they ca...
Talia Lavin
Mar 15, 2021
honestly if you like droll silly humor with a core of pin sharp observations of human nature theyre all so good terry pratchett has saved my life on numerous occasions (i reread as a depressive coping mechanism so im not even really kidding there) i just love the books so much 😭      source
Witches Abroad
Discworld Series
Terry Pratchett - Jul 30, 2013 (first published in 1991)
Goodreads Rating
Be careful what you wish for...Once upon a time there was a fairy godmother named Desiderata who had a good heart, a wise head, and poor planning skills—which unfortunately left the Princess Emberella in the care of her other (not quite so good and wise) godmother when DEATH came for Desiderata. So now it's up to Magrat Garlick, Granny Weatherwax, ...
Talia Lavin
Mar 15, 2021
honestly if you like droll silly humor with a core of pin sharp observations of human nature theyre all so good terry pratchett has saved my life on numerous occasions (i reread as a depressive coping mechanism so im not even really kidding there) i just love the books so much 😭      source
Guards! Guards!
Discworld Series
Terry Pratchett - Apr 30, 2013 (first published in 1989)
Goodreads Rating
This is where the dragons went. They lie ... not dead, not asleep, but ... dormant. And although the space they occupy isn't like normal space, nevertheless they are packed in tightly. They could put you in mind of a can of sardines, if you thought sardines were huge and scaly. And presumably, somewhere, there's a key...GUARDS! GUARDS! is the eight...
Talia Lavin
Mar 15, 2021
honestly if you like droll silly humor with a core of pin sharp observations of human nature theyre all so good terry pratchett has saved my life on numerous occasions (i reread as a depressive coping mechanism so im not even really kidding there) i just love the books so much 😭      source
Wyrd Sisters
Discworld Series
Terry Pratchett - Apr 30, 2013 (first published in 1988)
Goodreads Rating
Kingdoms wobble, crowns topple and knives flash on the magical Discworld as the statutory three witches meddle in royal politics. The wyrd sisters battle against frightful odds to put the rightful king on the throne. At least, that's what they think......
Talia Lavin
Mar 15, 2021
honestly if you like droll silly humor with a core of pin sharp observations of human nature theyre all so good terry pratchett has saved my life on numerous occasions (i reread as a depressive coping mechanism so im not even really kidding there) i just love the books so much 😭      source
Night Watch
Discworld Series
Terry Pratchett - Nov 21, 2011 (first published in 2002)
Goodreads Rating
'Don't put your trust in revolutions. They always come round again. That's why they're called revolutions. People die, and nothing changes.'For a policeman, there can be few things worse than a serial killer at loose in your city. Except, perhaps, a serial killer who targets coppers, and a city on the brink of bloody revolution. The people have fou...
Talia Lavin
Mar 15, 2021
honestly if you like droll silly humor with a core of pin sharp observations of human nature theyre all so good terry pratchett has saved my life on numerous occasions (i reread as a depressive coping mechanism so im not even really kidding there) i just love the books so much 😭      source
The Fifth Elephant
Discworld Series
Terry Pratchett - Jan 06, 2009 (first published in 1999)
Goodreads Rating
They say that diplomacy is a gentle art. That its finest practitioners are subtle, sophisticated individuals for whom nuance and subtext are meat and drink. And that mastering it is a lifetime's work. But you do need a certain inclination in that direction. It's not something you can just pick up on the job.Which is a shame if you find yourself dro...
Talia Lavin
Mar 15, 2021
honestly if you like droll silly humor with a core of pin sharp observations of human nature theyre all so good terry pratchett has saved my life on numerous occasions (i reread as a depressive coping mechanism so im not even really kidding there) i just love the books so much 😭      source
Moby Dick
Herman Melville - Jul 09, 2020 (first published in 1851)
Goodreads Rating
Moby-Dick is an 1851 novel by Herman Melville. The story tells the adventures of the wandering sailor Ishmael and his voyage on the whaling ship Pequod, commanded by Captain Ahab. Ishmael soon learns that Ahab seeks one specific whale, Moby-Dick, a white whale of tremendous size and ferocity. Comparatively few whaling ships know of Moby-Dick, and f...
Talia Lavin
Nov 28, 2020
@DabenoCrow ive read and loved older books! moby dick is my favorite book. stoker just isnt that good a writer!      source
Death in the Air
The True Story of a Serial Killer, the Great London Smog, and the Strangling of a City
Kate Winkler Dawson - Nov 13, 2018 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
A real-life thriller in the vein of The Devil in the White City, Kate Winkler Dawson's debut Death in the Air is a gripping, historical narrative of a serial killer, an environmental disaster, and an iconic city struggling to regain its footing. London was still recovering from the devastation of World War II when another disaster hit: for five lo...
Talia Lavin
Sep 14, 2020
@spindlypete the book "death in the air" by kate dawson - about the london smog and also about a serial killer operating during it - was INCREDIBLE (like devil and the white city its clear the author's real interest is in smog legislation, leavened with a bit of murder most foule)      source
Wolf Hall
A Novel
Hilary Mantel - Oct 13, 2009
Goodreads Rating
England in the 1520s is a heartbeat from disaster. If the king dies without a male heir, the country could be destroyed by civil war. Henry VIII wants to annul his marriage of twenty years, and marry Anne Boleyn. The pope and most of Europe opposes him. The quest for the king's freedom destroys his adviser, the brilliant Cardinal Wolsey, and leaves...
Talia Lavin
Sep 07, 2020
@LCosmonaut647 i am rereading wolf hall (a perfect book) and bring up the bodies to prepare for the mirror and the light which i havent read yet      source
The Torah Anthology
Book of Eicha (lamentations);(Me'am Lo'ez Series)
Shmuel Yerushalmi - Aug 01, 1990
Goodreads Rating
Includes Evening Service And Kinos...
Talia Lavin
Jul 30, 2020
Lamentations is one of several books of the Torah that has a unique cantillation when read publicly (sort of like musical notes, cantillation/trop dictates your inflections). it is particularly beautiful in my mind      source
Say Nothing by Patrick Radden Keefe
The 42nd Parallel by John Dos Passos