Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Best Murder Mystery Books

Recommendations from 7 articles, Anderson Cooper, Stephen King, Ben Shapiro and 12 others.
17 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
And Then There Were None book cover
And Then There Were None
Agatha Christie - 2011-03-29 (first published in 1939)
Goodreads Rating
The World's Bestselling Mystery"Ten . . ."Ten strangers are lured to an isolated island mansion off the Devon coast by a mysterious "U.N. Owen.""Nine . . ."At dinner a recorded message accuses each of them in turn of having a guilty secret, and by the end of the night one of the guests is dead."Eight . . ."Stranded by a violent storm, and haunted b...
The Alienist book cover
The Alienist
Caleb Carr - 2006-10-24 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
When The Alienist was first published in 1994, it was a major phenomenon, spending six months on the New York Times bestseller list, receiving critical acclaim, and selling millions of copies. This modern classic continues to be a touchstone of historical suspense fiction for readers everywhere.The year is 1896. The city is New York. Newspaper repo...
Journey Under the Midnight Sun [Paperback] [Jan 01, 2015] Higashino, Keigo book cover
Journey Under the Midnight Sun [Paperback] [Jan 01, 2015] Higashino, Keigo
Keigo Higashino - 2013-01-01 (first published in 1999)
Goodreads Rating
A twenty-year-old murderA chain of unsolvable mysteriesCan one detective solve this epic riddle?When a man is found murdered in an abandoned building in Osaka in 1973, unflappable detective Sasagaki is assigned to the case. He begins to piece together the connection of two young people who are inextricably linked to the crime; the dark, taciturn so...
Big Little Lies book cover
Big Little Lies
Liane Moriarty - 2014-07-29
Goodreads Rating
From the author of Truly Madly Guilty and The Husband s Secret comes a novel about the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.A murder...A tragic accident...Or just parents behaving badly? What’s indisputable is that someone is dead.Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny, biting, and passionate; she remembers everythi...
Recommended by
Elin Hilderbrand
Mystic River book cover
Mystic River
Dennis Lehane - 2011-06-28 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
When they were children, Sean Devine, Jimmy Marcus, and Dave Boyle were friends. But then a strange car pulled up to their street. One boy got into the car, two did not, and something terrible happened --- something that ended their friendship and changed all three boys forever.Now, years later, murder has tied their lives together again ......
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo book cover
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Stieg Larsson - 2009-01-06 (first published in 2005)
Goodreads Rating
The Girl in the Spider’s Web, the new book in the Millennium Series, is available now!Murder mystery, family saga, love story, and financial intrigue combine into one satisfyingly complex and entertainingly atmospheric novel.Harriet Vanger, a scion of one of Sweden's wealthiest families disappeared over forty years ago. All these years later, her a...
Recommended by
Imani Gandy
Silent Patient book cover
Silent Patient
Alex Michaelides - 2020-01-01 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Alicia Berenson lived a seemingly perfect life until one day six years ago. When she shot her husband in the head five times.Since then she hasn't spoken a single word.It's time to find out why....
Gone Girl book cover
Gone Girl
Gillian Flynn - 2014-04-22
Goodreads Rating
Marriage can be a real killer.One of the most critically acclaimed suspense writers of our time, New York Times bestseller Gillian Flynn takes that statement to its darkest place in this unputdownable masterpiece about a marriage gone terribly, terribly wrong. The Chicago Tribune proclaimed that her work draws you in and keeps you reading with the ...
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder book cover
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Holly Jackson - 2020-02-04
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn't add up, and a girl who's determined to find the real killer--but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.Everyone in Fairview knows the story.Pretty and popular high school s...
Rebecca book cover
Rebecca
Daphne du Maurier - 2018-03-01 (first published in 1938)
Goodreads Rating
Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again . . .The novel begins in Monte Carlo, where our heroine is swept off her feet by the dashing widower Maxim de Winter and his sudden proposal of marriage. Orphaned and working as a lady's maid, she can barely believe her luck. It is only when they arrive at his massive country estate that she realizes ho...
In Cold Blood book cover
In Cold Blood
Truman Capote - 1994-02-01
Finlay Donovan Is Killing It by Elle Cosimano
One of Us Is Lying by Karen M. McManus
The Dry by Jane Harper
Postmortem by Patricia Cornwell
The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler
Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke