Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Rafia Zakaria

author
journalist

Recommended Books

Rafia Zakaria is an attorney and author of The Upstairs Wife: An Intimate History of Pakistan; and Veil. She is a columnist for Dawn in Pakistan and writes regularly for Guardian Books, The Nation, The New Republic, The Baffler, Boston Review and various other places.
4 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
The Brutish Museums
The Benin Bronzes, Colonial Violence and Cultural Restitution
Dan Hicks - Nov 05, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Walk into any European museum today and you will see the curated spoils of Empire. They sit behind plate glass: dignified, tastefully lit. Accompanying pieces of card offer a name, date and place of origin. They do not mention that the objects are all stolen.Few artefacts embody this history of rapacious and extractive colonialism better than the B...
Rafia Zakaria
Nov 29, 2020
Cannot emphasize this enough. One of the best non-fiction books this year. @profdanhicks     source
Indian Sex Life
Sexuality and the Colonial Origins of Modern Social Thought
Durba Mitra - Jan 07, 2020
Goodreads Rating
How British authorities and Indian intellectuals developed ideas about deviant female sexuality to control and organize modern society in IndiaDuring the colonial period in India, European scholars, British officials, and elite Indian intellectuals--philologists, administrators, doctors, ethnologists, sociologists, and social critics--deployed idea...
Rafia Zakaria
Jul 15, 2020
I have to say @durbakatha “Indian Sex Lives: The Colonial Origins of Social Thought” is the best book I’ve read this year.     source
Empress
The Astonishing Reign of Nur Jahan
Ruby Lal - Jul 03, 2018
Goodreads Rating
Four centuries ago, a Muslim woman ruled an empire.When it came to hunting, she was a master shot. As a dress designer, few could compare. An ingenious architect, she innovated the use of marble in her parents’ mausoleum on the banks of the Yamuna River that inspired her stepson’s Taj Mahal. And she was both celebrated and reviled for her political...
Rafia Zakaria
Jan 06, 2019
For those who may like to read a historically thorough account of life in Mughal palaces I highly recommend this book by scholar Ruby Lal the best I read in 2018)     source
Georgia
A Novel of Georgia O'Keeffe
Dawn Tripp - Jan 17, 2017
Goodreads Rating
NATIONAL BESTSELLER - In a dazzling work of historical fiction in the vein of Nancy Horan's Loving Frank, Dawn Tripp brings to life Georgia O'Keeffe, her love affair with photographer Alfred Stieglitz, and her quest to become an independent artist. This is not a love story. If it were, we would have the same story. But he has his, and I have mine....
Rafia Zakaria
Sep 29, 2016
@pronounced_ing @NewYorker @dawntrippwriter :-) love Dawn's book on Georgia O Keefe!     source