Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Lena Dunham

actor
author

Recommended Books

Lena Dunham is an American actress, writer, director, and producer. She is known as the creator, writer, and star of the HBO television series Girls, for which she received several Emmy Award nominations and two Golden Globe Awards.
7 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Prozac Nation
Elizabeth Wurtzel - Apr 02, 2002 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an over-diagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and ...
Lena Dunham
May 28, 2020
4. Prozac Nation by @LizzieWurtzel - it’s hard to remember just how much this book (along with Girl, Interrupted) changed the landscape of mental health in America for women.     source
Also recommended by
Christina Warren
Girl, Interrupted
Susanna Kaysen - Apr 19, 1994 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spent most of the next two years on the ward for teenage girls in a psychiatric hospital as renowned for its famous clientele--Sylvia Plath, Robert Lowell, James Taylor, and Ray Charles--as for it...
Lena Dunham
May 28, 2020
4. Prozac Nation by @LizzieWurtzel - it’s hard to remember just how much this book (along with Girl, Interrupted) changed the landscape of mental health in America for women.     source
Just Checking
Scenes from the life of an obsessive-compulsive
Emily Colas - Jun 01, 1999
Goodreads Rating
We all worry. We all have moments of unfounded dread (Is someone behind that door?), or little phobias (roaches) or superstitions (step on a crack) that we indulge. Just Checking is an autobiographical account of what it is like to live with a full-blown case of obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD), which, at its height, finds author Emily Colas ner...
Lena Dunham
May 28, 2020
I found Emily’s book while scouring a self help shelf alone and it brought such profound comfort to see my symptoms in someone else. She inspired me to laugh at the foibles of my brain and to take my inner condition both more and less seriously -     source
Rising Strong
How the Ability to Reset Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent, and Lead
Brené Brown - Apr 04, 2017
Goodreads Rating
The physics of vulnerability is simple: If we are brave enough often enough, we will fall. The author of Daring Greatly and The Gifts of Imperfection tells us what it takes to get back up, and how owning our stories of disappointment, failure, and heartbreak gives us the power to write a daring new ending. Struggle, Brené Brown writes, can be our g...
Lena Dunham
May 10, 2020
If you are dealing with love loss/ break up grief at this difficult time, one book with suggestions on how to rise from it is #RiseStrong by @BreneBrown.     source
So Sad Today
Personal Essays
Melissa Broder - Mar 15, 2016
Goodreads Rating
Melissa Broder always struggled with anxiety. In the fall of 2012, she went through a harrowing cycle of panic attacks and dread that wouldn't abate for months. So she began @sosadtoday, an anonymous Twitter feed that allowed her to express her darkest feelings, and which quickly gained a dedicated following. In So Sad Today, Broder delves deeper i...
Lena Dunham
Dec 31, 2016
My favorite book of 2016 was So Sad Today by Melissa Broder.     source
The Empathy Exams
Essays
Leslie Jamison - Apr 01, 2014
Goodreads Rating
From personal loss to phantom diseases, The Empathy Exams is a bold and brilliant collection; winner of the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize.Beginning with her experience as a medical actor who was paid to act out symptoms for medical students to diagnose, Leslie Jamison’s visceral and revealing essays ask essential questions about our basic underst...
Lena Dunham
Dec 29, 2014
Stayed up far too late reading The Empathy Exams by @lsjamison. This book should be required if you're looking to be a person.     source
Daily Rituals
How Artists Work
Mason Currey - Apr 23, 2013
Goodreads Rating
Franz Kafka, frustrated with his living quarters and day job, wrote in a letter to Felice Bauer in 1912, “time is short, my strength is limited, the office is a horror, the apartment is noisy, and if a pleasant, straightforward life is not possible then one must try to wriggle through by subtle maneuvers.”   Kafka is one of 161 inspired—and inspiri...
Lena Dunham
Jun 16, 2013
Daily Rituals: I just can't recommend this book enough. Thank you @rickyvanveen!     source