Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Christina Warren

Recommended Books

Christina Warren is an American journalist, podcaster, and speaker known for her writing about technology, new media, and popular culture.
11 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
I'm Glad My Mom Died book cover
I'm Glad My Mom Died
Jennette McCurdy - 2022-08-09
Goodreads Rating
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER #1 INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER A heartbreaking and hilarious memoir by iCarly and Sam & Cat star Jennette McCurdy about her struggles as a former child actor—including eating disorders, addiction, and a complicated relationship with her overbearing mother—and how she retook control of her life. Jennette McCurdy was six yea...
Christina Warren
2022-09-06T19:18:26.000Z
@ChloeCondon @jennettemccurdy It's such a good book -- I even wound up buying the Audible version, which I almost never do after reading the book.      source
Under the Banner of Heaven book cover
Under the Banner of Heaven
A Story of Violent Faith
Jon Krakauer - 2004-06-08 (first published in 2003)
Goodreads Rating
A Story of Violent FaithA multilayered, bone-chilling narrative of messianic delusion, savage violence, polygamy, and unyielding faith. This is vintage Krakauer, an utterly compelling work of nonfiction that illuminates an otherwise confounding realm of human behavior.Jon Krakauer’s literary reputation rests on insightful chronicles of lives conduc...
Christina Warren
2022-03-28T01:56:59.000Z
Under the Banner of Heaven is one of the best books I have ever read. If the TV series on FX is even 1/10th as good it’ll be one of the best thing we see all year.      source
Ramona Quimby, Age 8 book cover
Ramona Quimby, Age 8
Beverly Cleary - 2020-03-17 (first published in 1981)
Goodreads Rating
In this special reissue of Newbery Honor Book Ramona Quimby, Age 8, the timeless classic now features a special foreword written by actress, producer, and author Amy Poehler, as well as an exclusive interview with Beverly Cleary herself.Ramona likes that she’s old enough to be counted on, but must everything depend on her? Mrs. Quimby has gone back...
Christina Warren
2020-10-31T08:06:53.000Z
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.      source
Also recommended by
Gayle Forman
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory book cover
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Roald Dahl - 2016-09-06 (first published in 1964)
Goodreads Rating
Charlie Bucket's wonderful adventure begins when he finds one of Mr. Willy Wonka's precious Golden Tickets and wins a whole day inside the mysterious chocolate factory. Little does he know the surprises that are in store for him!(back cover)...
Christina Warren
2020-10-31T08:06:53.000Z
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.      source
Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing book cover
Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing
Judy Blume - 2007-04-05 (first published in 1972)
Goodreads Rating
Life with his little brother, Fudge, makes Peter Hatcher feel like a fourth grade nothing. Whether Fudge is throwing a temper tantrum in a shoe store, smearing mashed potatoes on the walls at Hamburger Heaven, or trying to fly, he’s never far from trouble. He’s an almost three-year-old terror who gets away with everything, and Peter’s had it up to ...
Christina Warren
2020-10-31T08:06:53.000Z
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.      source
Bridge to Terabithia book cover
Bridge to Terabithia
Katherine Paterson - 2006-12-26 (first published in 1977)
Goodreads Rating
Jess Aarons' greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He's been practicing all summer and can't wait to see his classmates' faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys' side and outruns everyone.That's not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie...
Christina Warren
2020-10-31T08:06:53.000Z
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.      source
Dear Mr. Henshaw book cover
Dear Mr. Henshaw
Beverly Cleary - 2000-05-31
Goodreads Rating
Leigh has been Boyd Henshaw's number one fan ever since he was in second grade. Now in sixth grade, Leigh lives with his mother and is the new kid in school. He's lonely, troubled by the absence of his father, a cross-country trucker, and angry because a mysterious thief steals from his lunchbag. Then Leigh's teacher assigns a letter-writing projec...
Christina Warren
2020-10-31T08:06:53.000Z
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.      source
Thin Blue Lie book cover
Thin Blue Lie
The Failure of High-Tech Policing
Matt Stroud - 2019-03-19
Goodreads Rating
A wide-ranging investigation of how supposedly transformative technologies adopted by law enforcement have actually made policing worse--lazier, more reckless, and more discriminatoryAmerican law enforcement is a system in crisis. After explosive protests responding to police brutality and discrimination in Baltimore, Ferguson, and a long list of o...
Christina Warren
2020-04-28T21:40:36.000Z
Truly fantastic story from @MattStroud — you should also read his book on police/tech surveillance.      source
Prozac Nation book cover
Prozac Nation
Elizabeth Wurtzel - 2002-04-02 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an over-diagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and ...
Christina Warren
2020-01-07T17:45:20.000Z
That book was the best encapsulation I had read and may have ever read of depression. And I’m thankful it was written and for all of Wurtzel’s other writings.      source
Also recommended by
Lena Dunham
Desperate Networks book cover
Desperate Networks
Bill Carter - 2006-05-01
Goodreads Rating
Like new...
Christina Warren
2019-11-02T10:35:29.000Z
@ravi_hiranand @waltmossberg @Apple The book by Bill Carter is excellent and the later book he wrote about the Conan debacle is excellent too. His book Desperate Networks is also a fantastic behind the scenes of early 00s TV      source
American Psycho book cover
American Psycho
Bret Easton Ellis - 1991-03-01