Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Christina Warren

author
blogger
journalist

Recommended Books

Christina Warren is an American journalist, podcaster, and speaker known for her writing about technology, new media, and popular culture.
7 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Ramona Quimby, Age 8
Beverly Cleary - Mar 17, 2020 (first published in 1981)
Goodreads Rating
In this special reissue of Newbery Honor Book Ramona Quimby, Age 8, the timeless classic now features a special foreword written by actress, producer, and author Amy Poehler, as well as an exclusive interview with Beverly Cleary herself.Ramona likes that she’s old enough to be counted on, but must everything depend on her? Mrs. Quimby has gone back...
Christina Warren
Oct 31, 2020
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.     source
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Roald Dahl - Sep 06, 2016 (first published in 1964)
Goodreads Rating
Charlie Bucket's wonderful adventure begins when he finds one of Mr. Willy Wonka's precious Golden Tickets and wins a whole day inside the mysterious chocolate factory. Little does he know the surprises that are in store for him!(back cover)...
Christina Warren
Oct 31, 2020
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.     source
Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing
Judy Blume - Apr 05, 2007 (first published in 1972)
Goodreads Rating
Life with his little brother, Fudge, makes Peter Hatcher feel like a fourth grade nothing. Whether Fudge is throwing a temper tantrum in a shoe store, smearing mashed potatoes on the walls at Hamburger Heaven, or trying to fly, he’s never far from trouble. He’s an almost three-year-old terror who gets away with everything, and Peter’s had it up to ...
Christina Warren
Oct 31, 2020
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.     source
Bridge to Terabithia
Katherine Paterson - Dec 26, 2006 (first published in 1977)
Goodreads Rating
Jess Aarons' greatest ambition is to be the fastest runner in his grade. He's been practicing all summer and can't wait to see his classmates' faces when he beats them all. But on the first day of school, a new girl boldly crosses over to the boys' side and outruns everyone.That's not a very promising beginning for a friendship, but Jess and Leslie...
Christina Warren
Oct 31, 2020
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.     source
Dear Mr. Henshaw
Beverly Cleary - May 31, 2000
Goodreads Rating
Leigh has been Boyd Henshaw's number one fan ever since he was in second grade. Now in sixth grade, Leigh lives with his mother and is the new kid in school. He's lonely, troubled by the absence of his father, a cross-country trucker, and angry because a mysterious thief steals from his lunchbag. Then Leigh's teacher assigns a letter-writing projec...
Christina Warren
Oct 31, 2020
This was one of the most difficult memes I’ve ever had to do. Choosing Judy Blume books was almost impossible but the whole Fudge series was my shit. Same with Beverly Cleary but we’ll go Ramona series even though Dear Mr. Henshaw profoundly affected me.     source
Prozac Nation
Elizabeth Wurtzel - Apr 02, 2002 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an over-diagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and ...
Christina Warren
Jan 07, 2020
That book was the best encapsulation I had read and may have ever read of depression. And I’m thankful it was written and for all of Wurtzel’s other writings.     source
Also recommended by
Lena Dunham
Desperate Networks
Bill Carter - May 01, 2006
Goodreads Rating
Like new...
Christina Warren
Nov 02, 2019
@ravi_hiranand @waltmossberg @Apple The book by Bill Carter is excellent and the later book he wrote about the Conan debacle is excellent too. His book Desperate Networks is also a fantastic behind the scenes of early 00s TV     source