Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Sarah-Jayne Blakemore

educator
psychologist

Recommended Books

Sarah-Jayne Blakemore FBA FRSB is Professor of Psychology and Cognitive Neuroscience at the University of Cambridge and co-director of the Wellcome Trust PhD Programme in Neuroscience at University College London
4 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
The Social Instinct
How Cooperation Shaped the World
Nichola Raihani - Aug 31, 2021
Goodreads Rating
In the tradition of Richard Dawkin’s The Selfish Gene, Nichola Raihani's The Social Instinct is a profound and engaging look at the hidden processes which have underpinned human evolution, revealing how much we have in common with far-flung species, and why cooperation is key to why we are the way we are and to our future survival......
Sarah-Jayne Blakemore
Apr 04, 2021
This is a wonderful book about social interaction and cooperation across the entire animal kingdom. I couldn’t put it down and highly recommend it to everyone      source
Also recommended by
Adam Rutherford
The Connected Parent
An Expert Guide to Parenting in a Digital World
John Palfrey - Oct 06, 2020
Goodreads Rating
An essential guide for parents navigating the new frontier of hyper-connected kids.Today's teenagers spend about nine hours per day online. Parents of this ultra-connected generation struggle with decisions completely new to parenting: Should an eight-year-old be allowed to go on social media? How can parents help their children gain the most from ...
Sarah-Jayne Blakemore
Jan 30, 2021
I’m reading this interesting book on screentime. The evidence suggests effects depend on many factors eg how much, when and what (See work by @OrbenAmy & @Livingstone_S) 1/2 The Connected Parent: An Expert Guide to Parenting in a Digital World      source
Where the Crawdads Sing
Delia Owens - Mar 30, 2021 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
A novel about a young woman determined to make her way in the wilds of North Carolina, and the two men that will break her isolation open.For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. She's barefoot and wild; unfit for polite society. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found ...
Sarah-Jayne Blakemore
Dec 31, 2020
@neuro_boffin Ooh thanks for the recommendations. My favourite book of 2020 was Where the crawdads sing. Have you read it?      source
Also recommended by
Reese Witherspoon
The Idea of the Brain
The Past and Future of Neuroscience
Matthew Cobb - Apr 21, 2020
Goodreads Rating
A powerful examination of what we think we know about the brain and why -- despite technological advances -- the workings of our most essential organ remain a mystery. For thousands of years, thinkers and scientists have tried to understand what the brain does. Yet, despite the astonishing discoveries of science, we still have only the vaguest ide...
Sarah-Jayne Blakemore
Nov 29, 2020
It’s a brilliant book      source
Also recommended by
Adam Rutherford