Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Upulie Divisekera

Recommended Books

Upulie Pabasarie Divisekera is an Australian molecular biologist and science communicator. She is currently a doctoral student at Monash University and is the co-founder of Real Scientists, an outreach program that uses performance and writing to communicate science.
3 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
The Pickwick Papers book cover
The Pickwick Papers
Charles Dickens - 2016-09-13 (first published in 1837)
Goodreads Rating
In The Pickwick Papers we are introduced not just to one of the greatest writers in the English language but to some of fiction’s most endearing and memorable characters, starting with the ‘illustrious, immortal and colossal-minded’ Samuel Pickwick himself. It is a rollicking tour de force through an England on the brink of the Victorian era. Refor...
Upulie Divisekera
2020-11-15T06:09:02.000Z
Pickwick Papers is my new favourite book. I’m crying with laughter which is awkward because I’m sitting in a cafe      source
The Electric State book cover
The Electric State
Simon Stålenhag - 2018-09-25 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
A teen girl and her robot embark on a cross-country mission in this illustrated science fiction story, perfect for fans of Ready Player One and Black Mirror. In late 1997, a runaway teenager and her small yellow toy robot travel west through a strange American landscape where the ruins of gigantic battle drones litter the countryside, along with th...
Upulie Divisekera
2019-08-11T11:59:21.000Z
Finally stumbled upon Simon Stålenhag’s book; after seeing his art featured in @Colossal years ago. There’s something so melancholy and moving about these images      source
A Book of Middle Eastern Food book cover
A Book of Middle Eastern Food
Claudia Roden - 1972-09-01 (first published in 1968)
Goodreads Rating
More than 500 recipes from the subtle, spicy, varied cuisines of the Middle East, ranging from inexpensive but tasty peasant fare to elaborate banquet dishes."Mrs. Roden is an inspiring guide to a rather unusual school of cookery. Her recipes are mouth-watering and her directions clear and easy to follow. A Book of Middle Eastern Food is a landmark...
Upulie Divisekera
2019-06-19T05:46:04.000Z
@trib I do have it already! I love reading it. And her book of Jewish cooking with its satisfying Ashkenazi recipes. Sadly they’re in Australia      source