Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Eric Smith

author

Recommended Books

Eric Smith is a Young Adult author and literary agent with P.S. Literary living in Philadelphia. His latest novel, Don't Read the Comments, was published by Inkyard Press in January 2020.
23 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story
Lauren Morrill - Mar 09, 2021
Goodreads Rating
A delicious love story with all the toppings, Lauren Morrill's It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story is a contemporary YA rom-com about love, friendship, and pizza, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han.After her mother gave birth to her in the bathroom of a local pizzeria, Beck Brix been given the dubious privilege of having minor fame, fr...
Eric Smith
Feb 18, 2021
I blurbed this wildly perfect book. It’s my favorite YA rom-com of all time. Don’t miss out. 🍕🥰      source
Keep Moving
Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change
Maggie Smith - Oct 06, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Marie Claire’s The 2020 Books You Should Pre-Order Now The Washington Post’s What to Read in 2020 Based on the Books You Loved in 2019 Parade’s 25 Self-Help Books To Get Your 2020 Off On The Right Foot “Keep Moving speaks to you like an encouraging friend reminding you that you can feel and survive deep loss, sink into life’s deep beauty, and const...
Eric Smith
Jan 25, 2021
@carlywatters Ah!!! I read @maggiesmithpoet last month, @ChuckWendig introduced me to this book. Looooooved it.      source
Also recommended by
Chuck Wendig
Rise of the Red Hand
Olivia Chadha - Feb 02, 2021
Goodreads Rating
A rare, searing portrayal of the future of climate change in South Asia. A streetrat turned revolutionary and the disillusioned hacker son of a politician try to take down a ruthlessly technocratic government that sacrifices its poorest citizens to build its utopia.The South Asian Province is split in two. Uplanders lead luxurious lives inside a cl...
Eric Smith
Jan 02, 2021
Since it’s #NationalScienceFictionDay, here are a few books I’m terribly proud of: 🔥 Rise of the Red Hand by @ockaur. 🧬 Here & Now & Then by @mikechenwriter. ❄️ Road Out of Winter by @AlisonStine. 🚀 A Spark of White Fire by @SanguMandanna. Pick them up sometime. 🥰      source
Road Out of Winter
an apocalyptic thriller
Alison Stine - Sep 01, 2020
Goodreads Rating
In an endless winter, she carries seeds of hopeWylodine comes from a world of paranoia and poverty—her family grows marijuana illegally, and life has always been a battle. Now she’s been left behind to tend the crop alone. Then spring doesn’t return for the second year in a row, bringing unprecedented extreme winter.With grow lights stashed in her ...
Eric Smith
Jan 02, 2021
Since it’s #NationalScienceFictionDay, here are a few books I’m terribly proud of: 🔥 Rise of the Red Hand by @ockaur. 🧬 Here & Now & Then by @mikechenwriter. ❄️ Road Out of Winter by @AlisonStine. 🚀 A Spark of White Fire by @SanguMandanna. Pick them up sometime. 🥰      source
A Spark of White Fire
Sangu Mandanna - Aug 27, 2019 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
The first book in a scifi retelling of the Mahabrahata. When Esmae wins a contest of skill, she sets off events that trigger an inevitable and unwinnable war that pits her against the family she would give anything to return to.In a universe of capricious gods, dark moons, and kingdoms built on the backs of spaceships, a cursed queen sends her infa...
Eric Smith
Jan 02, 2021
Since it’s #NationalScienceFictionDay, here are a few books I’m terribly proud of: 🔥 Rise of the Red Hand by @ockaur. 🧬 Here & Now & Then by @mikechenwriter. ❄️ Road Out of Winter by @AlisonStine. 🚀 A Spark of White Fire by @SanguMandanna. Pick them up sometime. 🥰      source
Good Morning, Midnight
A Novel
Lily Brooks-Dalton - Jul 04, 2017 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Station Eleven and The Snow Child, Lily Brooks-Dalton's haunting debut is the unforgettable story of two outsiders--a lonely scientist in the Arctic and an astronaut trying to return to Earth--as they grapple with love, regret, and survival in a world transformed.NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SHELF AWARENESS AND THE CHI...
Eric Smith
Dec 26, 2020
I don’t see anyone on the timeline talking about The Midnight Sky? I hope that doesn’t mean it was bad. I LOVE Good Morning, Midnight (it’s one of the books that had me looking for authors like @mikechenwriter and @AlisonStine!), and I’ll be so upset if the movie is a let down.      source
The Big Rewind
A Novel
Libby Cudmore - Feb 02, 2016
Goodreads Rating
Jett Bennett moved to New York to become a music journalist. What she found was a temp gig as a proofreader, but at least she’s fitting in with the artists and musicians in the tragically hip Brooklyn neighborhood she calls home.But when Jett opens up her mail and finds a mix tape meant for her neighbor, KitKat, a local queen bee renowned for her “...
Eric Smith
Dec 17, 2020
@JamesTateHill @LibbyCudmore Yesssss!!! I love this book so much!      source
What Lane?
Torrey Maldonado - Apr 14, 2020
Goodreads Rating
"STAY IN YOUR LANE." Stephen doesn't want to hear that--he wants to have no lane....
Eric Smith
Nov 30, 2020
Adding these beauties by @brandycolbert and @TorreyMaldonado to the toddler’s ever growing Middle Grade library. One day he’ll be old enough, and all of these books will be here waiting. 🥰      source
The Only Black Girls in Town
Brandy Colbert - Mar 10, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert's debut middle-grade novel about the only two black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past. Beach-loving surfer Alberta has been the only black girl in town for years. Alberta's best friend, Laramie, is the closest thing she has to a sister, but there ...
Eric Smith
Nov 30, 2020
Adding these beauties by @brandycolbert and @TorreyMaldonado to the toddler’s ever growing Middle Grade library. One day he’ll be old enough, and all of these books will be here waiting. 🥰      source
Tight
Torrey Maldonado - Aug 27, 2019 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
* "Maldonado excels at depicting realistic and authentic interactions between middle school boys."--School Library Journal (starred review)A Washington Post Best Children's Book of 2018!Tight: Lately Bryan's been feeling it in all kinds of ways. He knows what's tight for him in a good way--reading comics, drawing superheroes, and hanging out with n...
Eric Smith
Nov 30, 2020
Adding these beauties by @brandycolbert and @TorreyMaldonado to the toddler’s ever growing Middle Grade library. One day he’ll be old enough, and all of these books will be here waiting. 🥰      source
When You Were Everything
Ashley Woodfolk - Mar 10, 2020
Goodreads Rating
You can't rewrite the past, but you can always choose to start again. It’s been twenty-seven days since Cleo and Layla’s friendship imploded. Nearly a month since Cleo realized they’ll never be besties again. Now, Cleo wants to erase every memory, good or bad, that tethers her to her ex–best friend. But pretending Layla doesn’t exist isn’t as easy ...
Eric Smith
Aug 23, 2020
Reminder: When You Were Everything by @AshWrites is one of the best books of the year.      source
Tweet Cute by Emma Lord
Not So Pure and Simple by Lamar Giles
A Conspiracy of Stars by Olivia A. Cole
Here and Now and Then by Mike Chen
The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams
Con Quest! by Sam Maggs
Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett
The Sound of Stars by Alechia Dow
Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki
Kill the Farm Boy by Kevin Hearne
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel