Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Eric Smith

Recommended Books

Eric Smith is a Young Adult author and literary agent with P.S. Literary living in Philadelphia. His latest novel, Don't Read the Comments, was published by Inkyard Press in January 2020.
44 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Planes, Trains, and All the Feels book cover
Planes, Trains, and All the Feels
Livy Hart - 2023-05-23
Goodreads Rating
Planes, Trains, and Automobiles gets a sexy reboot when two complete strangers hit the road on a trip full of distractions, detours, and disasters, perfect for fans of Emily Henry and Tessa Bailey....
Eric Smith
2023-01-16T18:21:40.000Z
What are your fav book titles with puns or clever word play? Mine: 🚞 Planes Trains & All the Feels by @LivyHartRomance 💀 Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by @LishMcBride 🧙🏽‍♂️ Mage Against the Machine by @ShaunBarger 🐥 Tweet Cute by @dilemmalord 🐳 Moby Clique by @CaraLockwood      source
Mage Against the Machine book cover
Mage Against the Machine
Shaun Barger - 2018-10-30
Goodreads Rating
Harry Potter meets The Terminator in this action-packed adventure about a young man who discovers that everything he believed about his world is a lie.The year is 2120. The humans are dead. The mages have retreated from the world after a madman blew up civilization with weaponized magical technology. Safe within domes that protect them from the nuc...
Eric Smith
2023-01-16T18:21:40.000Z
What are your fav book titles with puns or clever word play? Mine: 🚞 Planes Trains & All the Feels by @LivyHartRomance 💀 Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by @LishMcBride 🧙🏽‍♂️ Mage Against the Machine by @ShaunBarger 🐥 Tweet Cute by @dilemmalord 🐳 Moby Clique by @CaraLockwood      source
Hold Me Closer, Necromancer book cover
Hold Me Closer, Necromancer
Lish McBride - 2012-05-08 (first published in 2010)
Goodreads Rating
Sam leads a pretty normal life. He may not have the most exciting job in the world, but he's doing all right—until a fast food prank brings him to the attention of Douglas, a creepy guy with an intense violent streak. Turns out Douglas is a necromancer who raises the dead for cash and sees potential in Sam. Then Sam discovers he’s a necromancer too...
Eric Smith
2023-01-16T18:21:40.000Z
What are your fav book titles with puns or clever word play? Mine: 🚞 Planes Trains & All the Feels by @LivyHartRomance 💀 Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by @LishMcBride 🧙🏽‍♂️ Mage Against the Machine by @ShaunBarger 🐥 Tweet Cute by @dilemmalord 🐳 Moby Clique by @CaraLockwood      source
Moby Clique book cover
Moby Clique
Cara Lockwood - 2008-03-04
Goodreads Rating
Some literary classics have been around for centuries. Miranda Tate's just hoping to survive junior year.... Her summer reading assignment is Moby-Dick, but Miranda's vacation hasn't exactly been smooth sailing. Between working at her stepmother's hideous all-pink boutique, and having broken up with her basketball champ boyfriend Ryan, not to menti...
Eric Smith
2023-01-16T18:21:40.000Z
What are your fav book titles with puns or clever word play? Mine: 🚞 Planes Trains & All the Feels by @LivyHartRomance 💀 Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by @LishMcBride 🧙🏽‍♂️ Mage Against the Machine by @ShaunBarger 🐥 Tweet Cute by @dilemmalord 🐳 Moby Clique by @CaraLockwood      source
Hench book cover
Hench
A Novel
Natalie Zina Walschots - 2020-09-22
Goodreads Rating
Anna does boring things for terrible people because even criminals need office help and she needs a job. Working for a monster lurking beneath the surface of the world isn’t glamorous. But is it really worse than working for an oil conglomerate or an insurance company? In this economy? As a temp, she’s just a cog in the machine. But when she finall...
Eric Smith
2023-01-08T18:27:02.000Z
@SunshineDuk @RebeccaPodos @NatalieZed Oh I adore that book, and recently ordered it for my wife. 🥰      source
Also recommended by
Thaddeus Grugq
I Came All This Way to Meet You book cover
I Came All This Way to Meet You
Writing Myself Home
Jami Attenberg - 2022-01-11
Goodreads Rating
From New York Times bestselling author Jami Attenberg comes a dazzling memoir about unlocking and embracing her creativity—and how it saved her life.In this brilliant, fierce, and funny memoir of transformation, Jami Attenberg—described as a “master of modern fiction” (Entertainment Weekly) and the “poet laureate of difficult families” (Kirkus Revi...
Eric Smith
2022-12-27T15:13:24.000Z
I get asked about craft and writing life books all the time, and these were my favorites this year. Never Say You Can’t Survive by @charliejane. I Came All This Way to Meet You by @jamiattenberg. Me and @fran_wilde taught from Survive, and I read Jami’s book just yesterday. ❤️      source
Never Say You Can't Survive book cover
Never Say You Can't Survive
Charlie Jane Anders - 2021-08-17
Goodreads Rating
Things are scary right now. We’re all being swept along by a tidal wave of history, and it’s easy to feel helpless. But we’re not helpless: we have minds, and imaginations, and the ability to visualize other worlds and valiant struggles. And writing can be an act of resistance that reminds us that other futures and other ways of living are possible...
Eric Smith
2022-12-27T15:13:24.000Z
I get asked about craft and writing life books all the time, and these were my favorites this year. Never Say You Can’t Survive by @charliejane. I Came All This Way to Meet You by @jamiattenberg. Me and @fran_wilde taught from Survive, and I read Jami’s book just yesterday. ❤️      source
The Family Fang book cover
The Family Fang
A Novel
Kevin Wilson - 2012-04-17 (first published in 2011)
Goodreads Rating
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY TIME, PEOPLE, SALON, AND ESQUIRE“The Family Fang is a comedy, a tragedy, and a tour-de-force examination of what it means to make art and survive your family….The best single word description would be brilliant.” —Ann Patchett, author of Bel CantoA funny, poignant, laugh-and...
Eric Smith
2022-12-27T00:35:21.000Z
@kianangu Have you watched The Family Fang? I loved the book so much and his adaption was just perfect.      source
Vampire Weekend book cover
Vampire Weekend
A Novel
Mike Chen - 2023-01-31
Goodreads Rating
Being a vampire is far from glamorous…but it can be pretty punk rock.Everything you’ve heard about vampires is a lie. They can’t fly. No murders allowed (the community hates that). And turning into a bat? Completely ridiculous. In fact, vampire life is really just a lot of blood bags and night jobs. For Louise Chao, it’s also lonely, since she swor...
Eric Smith
2022-11-19T00:37:52.000Z
This book is so much fun and so moving. @mikechenwriter really out did himself with this one. ✨      source
Salt and Sugar book cover
Salt and Sugar
Rebecca Carvalho - 2022-11-01
Goodreads Rating
The grandchildren of two rival Brazilian bakeries fall in love despite their families’ feud. Trust neither thin-bottomed frying pans nor Molinas. Lari Ramires has always known this to be true. In Olinda, Brazil, her family’s bakery, Salt, has been at war with the Molinas’ bakery across the street, Sugar, for generations. But Lari’s world turns upsi...
Eric Smith
2022-11-02T18:32:31.000Z
These two beautiful preorders arrived today and I hope all of you are picking these up too. @cavalcar and @jakewhosagirl are brilliant, and I loved both of these books terribly. ❤️      source
How to Excavate a Heart by Jake Maia Arlow
Built to Last by Erin Hahn
Book Lovers by Emily Henry
This Rebel Heart by Katherine Locke
When You Get the Chance by Tom Ryan
It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill
Float Plan by Trish Doller
Rise of the Red Hand by Olivia Chadha
Keep Moving by Maggie Smith
Road Out of Winter by Alison Stine
Con Quest! by Sam Maggs
What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado
The Only Black Girls in Town by Brandy Colbert
When You Were Everything by Ashley Woodfolk
The Sound of Stars by Alechia Dow
Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli
Tweet Cute by Emma Lord
Not So Pure and Simple by Lamar Giles
The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams
A Spark of White Fire by Sangu Mandanna
Tight by Torrey Maldonado
Here and Now and Then by Mike Chen
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki
A Conspiracy of Stars by Olivia A. Cole
Kill the Farm Boy by Kevin Hearne
Good Morning, Midnight by Lily Brooks-Dalton
The Big Rewind by Libby Cudmore
Blood and Salt by Kim Liggett
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
Proxy by Alex London
This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper
Soon I Will be Invincible by Austin Grossman
The Known World by Edward P. Jones by Edward P. Jones