Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Dana Perino

author
politician

Recommended Books

Dana Marie Perino is an American political commentator and author who served as the twenty-fourth White House Press Secretary, serving under President George W. Bush from September 14, 2007, to January 20, 2009.
8 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Sophomores
Sean Desmond - Jan 26, 2021
Goodreads Rating
What a vibrant, propulsive, wildly intelligent and big-hearted slice of life Sophomores is, an intricate portrait of a family in crisis rendered with a great deal of humor and compassion. I loved this family, this corner of the world, this novel. -Claire Lombardo, author of The Most Fun We Ever Had The late 1980s come alive in this moving and keenl...
Dana Perino
Jan 24, 2021
Recommended reading from Dana! This novel comes out on Tuesday, Jan 28th - Sophomore by ⁦@skdesmond1973⁩ - and it is SO good. I highly recommend it. Beautifully written - a coming of age story - Dallas in the 1980s. Laugh, cry, think, be moved. 📚      source
The Dutch House
A Novel
Ann Patchett - Sep 24, 2019
Goodreads Rating
At the end of the Second World War, Cyril Conroy combines luck and a single canny investment to begin an enormous real estate empire, propelling his family from poverty to enormous wealth. His first order of business is to buy the Dutch House, a lavish estate in the suburbs outside of Philadelphia. Meant as a surprise for his wife, the house sets i...
Dana Perino
Oct 18, 2019
@KayLea81 @dailybriefing new book recommendations: The Dutch House. The Orphan of Salt Winds.      source
Also recommended by
Stephen KingRachel Botsman
The Orphan of Salt Winds
Elizabeth Brooks - Jan 15, 2019 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
England, 1939. Ten-year-old Virginia Wrathmell arrives at Salt Winds, a secluded house on the edge of a marsh, to meet her adoptive parents—practical, dependable Clem and glamorous, mercurial Lorna. The marsh, with its deceptive tides, is a beautiful but threatening place. Virginia’s new parents’ marriage is full of secrets and tensions she doesn’t...
Dana Perino
Oct 18, 2019
@KayLea81 @dailybriefing new book recommendations: The Dutch House. The Orphan of Salt Winds.      source
Accidental Presidents
Eight Men Who Changed America
Jared Cohen - Apr 08, 2019
Goodreads Rating
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER The strength and prestige of the American presidency has waxed and waned since George Washington. Accidental Presidents looks at eight men who came to the office without being elected to it. It demonstrates how the character of the man in that powerful seat affects the nation and world.Eight men have succeeded to the presi...
Dana Perino
Apr 18, 2019
Great! @JaredCohen wrote a great book      source
Bridge of Clay
Markus Zusak - Oct 08, 2019 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
The unforgettable, New York Times bestselling family saga from Markus Zusak, the storyteller who gave us the extraordinary bestseller THE BOOK THIEF, lauded by the New York Times as "the kind of book that can be life-changing." NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY - THE WALL STREET JOURNAL"One of those monumental books th...
Dana Perino
Dec 02, 2018
Finished this book today. My goodness. I loved it. Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak      source
Also recommended by
John Green
Mr. Churchill's Secretary
A Maggie Hope Mystery
Maggie Hope Series
Susan Elia MacNeal - Apr 03, 2012
Goodreads Rating
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Mag...
Dana Perino
Jun 03, 2017
The book series I recommended on @TheFive Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery #Amazon      source
The Nightingale
A Novel
Kristin Hannah - Apr 25, 2017
Goodreads Rating
In love we find out who we want to be.In war we find out who we are.FRANCE, 1939In the quiet village of Carriveau, Vianne Mauriac says goodbye to her husband, Antoine, as he heads for the Front. She doesn’t believe that the Nazis will invade France…but invade they do, in droves of marching soldiers, in caravans of trucks and tanks, in planes that f...
Dana Perino
May 09, 2016
Recommended book, The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. story swept me up into the fight of the free French in WWII. Poignant. Relevant today.      source
Also recommended by
Preeti Shenoy
Carl Goes Shopping
Alexandra Day - Jan 01, 1992 (first published in 1989)
Goodreads Rating
When Carl is told to mind the baby at a department store, the faithful Rottweiler and his little friend do some mischievous exploring....
Dana Perino
Sep 15, 2012
@Jdhickspi I loved that book. Good dog, Carl!      source