Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Rachel Botsman

author

Recommended Books

Rachel Botsman is a leading expert and author on trust in the modern world. As the first Trust Fellow at Oxford University's Saïd Business School, she aims to challenge and change the way people think about trust and related topics such as power, influence, truth and beliefs.
18 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Writers & Lovers
A Novel
Lily King - Mar 03, 2020
Goodreads Rating
Following the breakout success of her critically acclaimed and award-winning novel Euphoria, Lily King returns with an unforgettable portrait of an artist as a young woman.Blindsided by her mother's sudden death, and wrecked by a recent love affair, Casey Peabody has arrived in Massachusetts in the summer of 1997 without a plan. Her mail consists o...
Rachel Botsman
Jun 11, 2020
Three fiction books that have given me a wonderful mental escape: The Dutch House, Ann Patchett Writers & Lovers, Lily King (couldn't put it down) Girl, Women, Other, Bernadine Evaristo Any recommendations?     source
Also recommended by
Marian Keyes
The Dutch House
A Novel
Ann Patchett - Sep 24, 2019
Goodreads Rating
At the end of the Second World War, Cyril Conroy combines luck and a single canny investment to begin an enormous real estate empire, propelling his family from poverty to enormous wealth. His first order of business is to buy the Dutch House, a lavish estate in the suburbs outside of Philadelphia. Meant as a surprise for his wife, the house sets i...
Rachel Botsman
Jun 11, 2020
Three fiction books that have given me a wonderful mental escape: The Dutch House, Ann Patchett Writers & Lovers, Lily King (couldn't put it down) Girl, Women, Other, Bernadine Evaristo Any recommendations?     source
Also recommended by
Stephen KingDana Perino
Girl, Woman, Other
Bernardine Evaristo - May 02, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Joint Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2019Teeming with life and crackling with energy — a love song to modern Britain and black womanhoodGirl, Woman, Other follows the lives and struggles of twelve very different characters. Mostly women, black and British, they tell the stories of their families, friends and lovers, across the country and through t...
Rachel Botsman
Jun 11, 2020
Three fiction books that have given me a wonderful mental escape: The Dutch House, Ann Patchett Writers & Lovers, Lily King (couldn't put it down) Girl, Women, Other, Bernadine Evaristo Any recommendations?     source
Why We Sleep
Unlocking the Power of Sleep and Dreams
Matthew Walker - Jun 19, 2018 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
“Why We Sleep is an important and fascinating book…Walker taught me a lot about this basic activity that every person on Earth needs. I suspect his book will do the same for you.” —Bill Gates A New York Times bestseller and international sensation, this “stimulating and important book” (Financial Times) is a fascinating dive into the purpose and po...
Rachel Botsman
Mar 02, 2020
@MikeRenner59 @kathrynschulz @simonsinek @KateMurphyNews @JamesClear I loved that book!     source
You're Not Listening
What You're Missing and Why It Matters
Kate Murphy - Jan 07, 2020
Goodreads Rating
At work, we’re taught to lead the conversation.On social media, we shape our personal narratives.At parties, we talk over one another. So do our politicians.We’re not listening.And no one is listening to us.Despite living in a world where technology allows constant digital communication and opportunities to connect, it seems no one is really listen...
Rachel Botsman
Mar 02, 2020
“What are you reading?” I’m surprised by the number of people that ask me for book recommendations and tips to read more. So to kick-off each month, I thought I’d recommend four recent reads: @kathrynschulz @simonsinek @KateMurphyNews @JamesClear     source
The Infinite Game
Simon Sinek - Oct 15, 2019
Goodreads Rating
Do you know how to play the game you're in? In finite games, like football or chess, the players are known, the rules are fixed, and the endpoint is clear. The winners and losers are easily identified.In infinite games, like business or politics or life itself, the players come and go, the rules are changeable, and there is no defined endpoint. Th...
Rachel Botsman
Mar 02, 2020
“What are you reading?” I’m surprised by the number of people that ask me for book recommendations and tips to read more. So to kick-off each month, I thought I’d recommend four recent reads: @kathrynschulz @simonsinek @KateMurphyNews @JamesClear     source
Also recommended by
Jonathan Sacks
Atomic Habits
An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones
James Clear - Oct 16, 2018
Goodreads Rating
The instant New York Times bestseller. Over 1 million copies sold! Tiny Changes, Remarkable Results No matter your goals, Atomic Habits offers a proven framework for improving--every day. James Clear, one of the world's leading experts on habit formation, reveals practical strategies that will teach you exactly how to form good habits, break bad o...
Rachel Botsman
Mar 02, 2020
“What are you reading?” I’m surprised by the number of people that ask me for book recommendations and tips to read more. So to kick-off each month, I thought I’d recommend four recent reads: @kathrynschulz @simonsinek @KateMurphyNews @JamesClear     source
Being Wrong
Adventures in the Margin of Error
Kathryn Schulz - Jan 04, 2011 (first published in 2010)
Goodreads Rating
The bestselling history of and investigation into human error by beloved New Yorker writer Kathryn Schulz“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New PlanetIn the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Pred...
Rachel Botsman
Feb 14, 2020
I've been asking myself a question, every day this week: What if I'm WRONG?​ It's a tremendously powerful in unexpected ways.​ Inspired by @kathrynschulz brilliant book and one of my fave quotes from Moliere.     source
Also recommended by
Peter Attia
Hello World
Being Human in the Age of Algorithms
Hannah Fry - Sep 24, 2019 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
When it comes to artificial intelligence, we either hear of a paradise on earth or of our imminent extinction. It’s time we stand face-to-digital-face with the true powers and limitations of the algorithms that already automate important decisions in healthcare, transportation, crime, and commerce. Hello World is indispensable preparation for the m...
Rachel Botsman
Dec 02, 2018
Non-fiction books I've devoured over the past couple of months. Over the Xmas holidays. I'm planning on getting lost in a pile of fiction. Any recommendations?     source
Also recommended by
David Smith
Dare to Lead
Brave Work. Tough Conversations. Whole Hearts.
Brené Brown - Oct 09, 2018
Goodreads Rating
In her #1 New York Times bestsellers, Brené Brown has taught us what it means to dare greatly, rise strong, and brave the wilderness. Now, based on new research conducted with leaders, change makers, and culture shifters, she's showing us how to put those ideas into practice so we can step up and lead.Leadership is not about titles, status, and wie...
Rachel Botsman
Dec 02, 2018
Non-fiction books I've devoured over the past couple of months. Over the Xmas holidays. I'm planning on getting lost in a pile of fiction. Any recommendations?     source
PEOPLE VS TECH, THE
J. Bartlett - Apr 19, 2018
Goodreads Rating
'Meticulously scrutinizes the social and political consequences of our increasingly digitized world.' - KirkusThe internet was meant to set us free.Tech has radically changed the way we live our lives. But have we unwittingly handed too much away to shadowy powers behind a wall of code, all manipulated by a handful of Silicon Valley utopians, ad me...
Rachel Botsman
Dec 02, 2018
Non-fiction books I've devoured over the past couple of months. Over the Xmas holidays. I'm planning on getting lost in a pile of fiction. Any recommendations?     source
Nervous States by William Davies
Silence by Erling Kagge
Less by Andrew Sean Greer
New Power by Jeremy Heimans
Fortune Smiles by Adam Johnson
The Righteous Mind by Jonathan Haidt
The Panama Papers by Frederik Obermaier