Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Fatima Bhutto

author

Recommended Books

Fatima Bhutto is a Pakistani writer. Born in Kabul, she is daughter of Murtaza Bhutto, niece of former Pakistani Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto and granddaughter of former Pakistani Prime Minister Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto.
11 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Aftershocks
A Memoir
Nadia Owusu - Jan 12, 2021
Goodreads Rating
This poetic, genre-bending work—blending memoir with cultural history—from Whiting Award winner Nadia Owusu grapples with the fault lines of identity, the meaning of home, black womanhood, and the ripple effects, both personal and generational, of emotional trauma. Nadia Owusu grew up all over the world—from Rome and London to Dar-es-Salaam and Kam...
Fatima Bhutto
Feb 17, 2021
I don’t normally do books on Twitter but this is incredibly moving      source
The Good Girls
An Ordinary Killing
Sonia Faleiro - Feb 09, 2021
Goodreads Rating
By the award-winning writer of Beautiful Thing, a masterly inquest into how the mysterious deaths of two teenage girls shone a light into the darkest corners of a nation.The girls' names were Padma and Lalli, but they were so inseparable that people in the village called them Padma Lalli. Sixteen-year-old Padma sparked and burned. Fourteen-year-ol...
Fatima Bhutto
Jan 08, 2021
I couldn’t recommend this book more:      source
Desert Notebooks
A Road Map for the End of Time
Ben Ehrenreich - Jul 07, 2020
Goodreads Rating
For fans of Robert Macfarlane or Elizabeth Rush, National Magazine Award winner and The Nation columnist Ben Ehrenreich layers climate science, mythologies, nature writing, and personal experiences into a stunning reckoning of our current moment and our all-too-human urge to grapple with apocalypse.A book about the literal and figurative end of tim...
Fatima Bhutto
Jul 02, 2020
@vivekisms I’m ok! Reading Desert Notebooks by Ben Ehrenreich - a book perfectly suited for our odd times      source
Friday Black
Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah - Oct 23, 2018
Goodreads Rating
In the stories of Adjei-Brenyahs debut, an amusement park lets players enter augmented reality to hunt terrorists or shoot intruders played by minority actors, a school shooting results in both the victim and gunman stuck in a shared purgatory, and an author sells his soul to a many-tongued god.Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enra...
Fatima Bhutto
Aug 02, 2019
@NosheenIqbal @NK_Adjei @guardianreview Brilliant piece on a brilliant book & writer      source
Also recommended by
Aparna NancherlaVinod Khosla
The Autobiography of Malcolm X
Malcolm X - Sep 29, 1992 (first published in 1965)
Goodreads Rating
With its first great victory in the landmark Supreme Court decision Brown v. Board of Education in 1954, the civil rights movement gained the powerful momentum it needed to sweep forward into its crucial decade, the 1960s. As voices of protest and change rose above the din of history and false promises, one voice sounded more urgently, more passion...
Fatima Bhutto
Jun 05, 2019
The Autobiography of Malcolm X was a book that changed my life, here's why:      source
Nobody
Casualties of America's War on the Vulnerable, from Ferguson to Flint and Beyond
Marc Lamont Hill - May 02, 2017 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
Named a Best Book of 2016 by Kirkus Reviews A New York Times Editors Choice Nautilus Award Winner A worthy and necessary addition to the contemporary canon of civil rights literature. The New York Times In this thought-provoking and important (Library Journal) analysis of state-sanctioned violence, Marc Lamont Hill carefully considers a string of ...
Fatima Bhutto
May 17, 2019
Filmed something exciting with the very inspiring @marclamonthill for @AlJazeera today. If you haven’t read his book ‘Nobody’ then you urgently must      source
The Way to the Spring
Life and Death in Palestine
Ben Ehrenreich - Jun 14, 2016
Goodreads Rating
From an award-winning journalist, a brave and necessary immersion into the everyday struggles of Palestinian life Over the past three years, American writer Ben Ehrenreich has been traveling to and living in the West Bank, staying with Palestinian families in its largest cities and its smallest villages. Along the way he has written major stories f...
Fatima Bhutto
May 23, 2018
A book of staggering beauty and sorrow      source
In February 2017, Gurmehar Kaur, a nineteen-year-old student, joined a peaceful campaign after violent clashes at a Delhi University college. As part of the campaign, Kaur's post made her the target of an onslaught of social media vitriol. Kaur, the daughter of a Kargil martyr, suddenly became a focal point of a nationalism debate. Facing a trial b...
Fatima Bhutto
May 06, 2018
Wrote about @mehartweets’s brave book, Small Acts of Freedom, for the @BazaarIndia literature issue this May. It’s a valuable book for these troubled times      source
The Sensational Life And Death Of Qandeel Baloch
Sanam Maher - Jun 13, 2018
Goodreads Rating
Brand New!! Re-check ISBN before Purchase...
Fatima Bhutto
Apr 25, 2018
The Sensational Life and Death of Qandeel Baloch by @SanamMKhi is easily the best book I’ve read so far this year. It’s out next month preorder in PK at or elsewhere here      source
Portrait of the Alcoholic
Kaveh Akbar - Jan 26, 2017
Goodreads Rating
"Was it Jung who speculated that alcoholism might be an attempt at a material solution for a spiritual problem? Kaveh Akbar seems able to contain both--he's a demotic, as well as a spiritual, poet (the only type of either I trust). Each word in this little book might rise up from somewhere deep in the earth, but they turn into stars." - Nick Flynn"...
Fatima Bhutto
Oct 18, 2017
This @KavehAkbar book of poems is a revelation      source
Chasing the Scream
The Opposite of Addiction is Connection
Johann Hari - Mar 01, 2016 (first published in 2015)
Goodreads Rating
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERIt is now one hundred years since drugs were first banned in the United States. On the eve of this centenary, journalist Johann Hari set off on an epic three-year, thirty-thousand-mile journey into the war on drugs. What he found is that more and more people all over the world have begun to recognize three startling truths:...
Fatima Bhutto
Jul 12, 2015
Everything you know about addiction is wrong @johannhari101's fascinating TED talk if you haven't read his book, do      source
Also recommended by
Alan Cooper