Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In
Books LikeThe Bell Jar

Books like The Bell Jar

Enjoyed The Bell Jar? We’ve scoured the web for book blogs and looked at all of their recommendations for books that are similar to The Bell Jar. Here are 8 books that you may like if you liked The Bell Jar.

8 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Stephen Chbosky - Aug 14, 2012 (first published in 1999)
Goodreads Rating
The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a story about what its like to travel that strange course through the uncharted territory of high school. The world of first dates, family dramas, and new friends. Of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show. Of those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up....
Recommended by
Jamie GraysonJenn Im
It's Kind of a Funny Story
Ned Vizzini - May 01, 2007 (first published in 2006)
Goodreads Rating
Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life - which means getting into the right high school to get into the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan's Executive Pre-Professional High School, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself.Craig'...
The Yellow Wallpaper
Charlotte Perkins Gilman - Jun 06, 2017 (first published in 1892)
Goodreads Rating
‘It is stripped off - the paper - in great patches . . . The colour is repellent . . . In the places where it isn’t faded and where the sun is just so - I can see a strange, provoking, formless sort of figure, that seems to skulk about . . .’Based on the author’s own experiences, 'The Yellow Wallpaper' is the chilling tale of a woman driven to the ...
Turtles All the Way Down
John Green - Jun 11, 2019 (first published in 2017)
Goodreads Rating
THE INSTANT #1 BESTSELLER IS NOW AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK! FEATURED ON 60 MINUTES and FRESH AIR"So surprising and moving and true that I became completely unstrung." - The New York Times Named a best book of the year by: The New York Times, NPR, TIME, Wall Street Journal, Boston Globe, Entertainment Weekly, Southern Living, Publishers Weekly, BookP...
Girl, Interrupted
Susanna Kaysen - Apr 19, 1994 (first published in 1993)
Goodreads Rating
In 1967, after a session with a psychiatrist she'd never seen before, eighteen-year-old Susanna Kaysen was put in a taxi and sent to McLean Hospital. She spent most of the next two years on the ward for teenage girls in a psychiatric hospital as renowned for its famous clientele--Sylvia Plath, Robert Lowell, James Taylor, and Ray Charles--as for it...
Recommended by
Lena Dunham
Wishful Drinking
Carrie Fisher - Sep 08, 2009
Goodreads Rating
In Wishful Drinking, Carrie Fisher tells the true and intoxicating story of her life with inimitable wit. Born to celebrity parents, she was picked to play a princess in a little movie called Star Wars when only 19 years old. "But it isn't all sweetness and light sabres." Alas, aside from a demanding career and her role as a single mother (not to m...
Mrs. Dalloway
Virginia Woolf - Jan 05, 2021 (first published in 1925)
Goodreads Rating
A stunning new edition of Virginia Woolf's engulfing portrait of a day in one woman's life, featuring a new foreword by Jenny Offill, the New York Times bestselling author of Weather A Penguin Classics Deluxe EditionClarissa Dalloway, elegant and vivacious, is preparing for a party and remembering those she once loved. In another part of London, Se...
Recommended by
Corey Robin
Prozac Nation
Elizabeth Wurtzel - Apr 02, 2002 (first published in 1994)
Goodreads Rating
Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger in the faint pulse of an over-diagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. In this famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and ...