Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSonaLibrariesSign In

Bradley Whitford

Recommended Books

Bradley Whitford is an American actor and political activist, noted for his portrayal of White House Deputy Chief of Staff Josh Lyman in the NBC television political drama The West Wing, for which he was nominated for three consecutive Primetime Emmy Awards from 2001 to 2003, winning in 2001.
6 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Invisible Storm book cover
Invisible Storm
A Soldier's Memoir of Politics and PTSD
Jason Kander - 2022-07-05
Goodreads Rating
This powerful memoir by a former army intelligence officer tells a story of impossible choices and the struggle with PTSD. Despite being touted as a potential presidential candidate, the author turns to a mayoral race and eventually drops out of public life due to depression and thoughts of suicide. He candidly shares his fight for healing and the support of his family, offering hope to readers going through similar struggles.
Bradley Whitford
2022-07-22T16:47:22.000Z
Incredible. I never served in the military or ran for office, but I think we’ve all gone through dark times where we’ve lost ourselves and our connection to the people we love. Jason shows us, under extraordinary circumstances, a way back to the light. This book is for everyone.      source
Blacktop Wasteland book cover
Blacktop Wasteland
A Novel
S. A. Cosby - 2020-07-14
Goodreads Rating
A former getaway driver turned honest mechanic, Bug Montage is forced back into a life of crime to solve his financial struggles. But when a diamond heist goes terribly wrong, he's dragged into a seedy underworld that endangers everything he loves. BLACKTOP WASTELAND is a thrilling crime novel that explores the dark side of the American dream, perfect for fans of Don Winslow and Attica Locke.
Bradley Whitford
2022-07-12T17:19:15.000Z
Incredible read!!! Don’t miss this book!!!      source
Every Day Is a Gift book cover
Every Day Is a Gift
A Memoir
Tammy Duckworth - 2021-03-30
Goodreads Rating
Illinois senator and Iraq War veteran Tammy Duckworth shares her inspiring life story in Every Day Is a Gift. Duckworth's resilience shines through as she recounts facing discrimination, poverty, and war from childhood, culminating in the RPG attack that took her legs during her service in Iraq. But her story doesn't end there - after recovering at Walter Reed, she pursued politics and became a U.S. Senator in 2016. This book is a remarkable testament to Duckworth's strength and dedication to public service.
Bradley Whitford
2021-04-07T00:03:38.000Z
I inhaled this book by one of my favorite public servants on the planet, ⁦@SenDuckworth⁩. What. A. Life. Beautifully written, hilarious and beyond inspiring. Don’t miss #everydayisagift      source
Caste book cover
Caste
The Origins of Our Discontents
Isabel Wilkerson - 2020-08-04
Goodreads Rating
Explore the hidden caste system that has shaped America through this immersive and deeply researched narrative by the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Warmth of Other Suns. In Caste, Isabel Wilkerson examines the power hierarchy that defines our lives today, beyond race, class, or other factors. Through real stories about people like Martin Luther King Jr. and baseball's Satchel Paige, she uncovers the eight pillars that underlie caste systems across civilizations. Wilkerson also links the caste systems of America, India, and Nazi Germany, showcasing how the cruel logic of caste requires a bottom rung to measure against. This eye-opening read offers hope in moving beyond these artificial and destructive separations in pursuit of our common humanity.
Bradley Whitford
2020-10-05T05:38:57.000Z
Tap and read this from @Isabelwilkerson’s brilliant “Caste”. Buy the book. Also, tomorrow is the last day to register to vote in many states. Go to if you haven’t already. Make a plan to vote as early as you can.      source
Our Time Is Now book cover
Our Time Is Now
Power, Purpose, and the Fight for a Fair America
Stacey Abrams - 2020-06-09
Goodreads Rating
Empower yourself and reshape progressive politics with this empowering blueprint to end voter suppression and reclaim identity. Author Stacey Abrams draws on extensive research and personal experiences to demonstrate how suppression and identity have harmed citizens in overt and subtle ways. With the upcoming 2020 election, the stakes couldn't be higher. Our Time Is Now shows us where we fall short as a democracy and empowers us to become the democracy we're meant to be.
Bradley Whitford
2020-07-31T20:40:22.000Z
To understand the full scope of the @GOP’s ongoing, un American strategy of voter suppression and what we need to do about it, you need to buy this book today. ⁦@staceyabrams⁩ ⁦@fairfightaction⁩      source
Also recommended by
Ibram X. Kendi
Winners Take All book cover
Winners Take All
The Elite Charade of Changing the World
Anand Giridharadas - 2018-08-28
Goodreads Rating
This investigative book delves into how the world's elite work, manipulate, and rebrand themselves as saviors of the poor while preserving their power and position atop society. The author takes us into the inner sanctums of a new gilded age where the rich fight for equality and justice any way they can, except for ways that threaten the social order. An essential read for understanding the egregious abuses of power that dominate today's news and a call to action for elites and citizens alike to build a more egalitarian society through democratic means.
Bradley Whitford
2019-10-03T06:00:27.000Z
@AnandWrites is hypnotically articulate and undeniably correct. Listen to this. @winnerstakeall is a book you need to read. It changed the way I think about economic inequality and what we need to do about it. Must read.      source