Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Books like The Book Thief

Enjoyed The Book Thief? We’ve scoured the web for book blogs and looked at all of their recommendations for books that are similar to The Book Thief. Here are 8 books that you may like if you liked The Book Thief.

8 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
The Complete Maus
Art Spiegelman - Nov 19, 1996 (first published in 1986)
Goodreads Rating
Combined for the first time here are Maus I: A Survivor's Tale and Maus II - the complete story of Vladek Spiegelman and his wife, living and surviving in Hitler's Europe. By addressing the horror of the Holocaust through cartoons, the author captures the everyday reality of fear and is able to explore the guilt, relief and extraordinary sensation ...
First They Killed My Father
A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers (P.S.)
Loung Ung - Apr 04, 2006 (first published in 2000)
Goodreads Rating
From a childhood survivor of the Camdodian genocide under the regime of Pol Pot, this is a riveting narrative of war crimes and desperate actions, the unnerving strength of a small girl and her family, and their triumph of spirit.One of seven children of a high-ranking government official, Loung Ung lived a privileged life in the Cambodian capital ...
Night
Elie Wiesel - Jan 16, 2006 (first published in 1956)
Goodreads Rating
Born in the town of Sighet, Transylvania, Elie Wiesel was a teenager when he and his family were taken from their home in 1944 to Auschwitz concentration camp, and then to Buchenwald. Night is the terrifying record of Elie Wiesel's memories of the death of his family, the death of his own innocence, and his despair as a deeply observant Jew confron...
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
A Novel
Heather Morris - Sep 04, 2018
Goodreads Rating
In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.Imprisoned for more than two and a half years, Lal...
Recommended by
Preeti Shenoy
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
John Boyne - Sep 12, 2006
Goodreads Rating
The story of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is very difficult to describe. Usually we give some clues about the book on the cover, but in this case we think that would spoil the reading of the book. We think it is important that you start to read without knowing what it is about.If you do start to read this book, you will go on a journey with a nin...
The Diary Of A Young Girl
Anne Frank - Jan 01, 2018 (first published in 1947)
Goodreads Rating
Anne Frank's extraordinary diary, written in the Amsterdam attic where she and her family hid from the Nazis for two years, has become a world classic and a timeless testament to the human spirit. Now, in a new edition enriched by many passages originally withheld by her father, we meet an Anne more real, more human, and more vital than ever. Here ...
Recommended by
Alice Little
Girl at War
A Novel
Sara Novic - Mar 22, 2016 (first published in 2015)
Goodreads Rating
For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war....