Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In
The Book Thief book cover
Books LikeThe Book Thief

Books like The Book Thief

Enjoyed The Book Thief? We’ve scoured the web for book blogs and looked at all of their recommendations for books that are similar to The Book Thief. Here are 8 books that you may like if you liked The Book Thief.

8 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
The Complete Maus book cover
The Complete Maus
Art Spiegelman - 1996-11-19 (first published in 1986)
Goodreads Rating
Combined for the first time here are Maus I: A Survivor's Tale and Maus II - the complete story of Vladek Spiegelman and his wife, living and surviving in Hitler's Europe. By addressing the horror of the Holocaust through cartoons, the author captures the everyday reality of fear and is able to explore the guilt, relief and extraordinary sensation ...
Man's Search for Meaning book cover
Man's Search for Meaning
Viktor E. Frankl - 2006-06-01 (first published in 1946)
Goodreads Rating
Psychiatrist Viktor Frankl's memoir has riveted generations of readers with its descriptions of life in Nazi death camps and its lessons for spiritual survival. Based on his own experience and the stories of his patients, Frankl argues that we cannot avoid suffering but we can choose how to cope with it, find meaning in it, and move forward with re...
First They Killed My Father book cover
First They Killed My Father
A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers (P.S.)
Loung Ung - 2006-04-04 (first published in 2000)
Goodreads Rating
From a childhood survivor of the Camdodian genocide under the regime of Pol Pot, this is a riveting narrative of war crimes and desperate actions, the unnerving strength of a small girl and her family, and their triumph of spirit.One of seven children of a high-ranking government official, Loung Ung lived a privileged life in the Cambodian capital ...
Night book cover
Night
Elie Wiesel - 2006-01-16 (first published in 1956)
Goodreads Rating
Born in the town of Sighet, Transylvania, Elie Wiesel was a teenager when he and his family were taken from their home in 1944 to Auschwitz concentration camp, and then to Buchenwald. Night is the terrifying record of Elie Wiesel's memories of the death of his family, the death of his own innocence, and his despair as a deeply observant Jew confron...
The Tattooist of Auschwitz book cover
The Tattooist of Auschwitz
A Novel
Heather Morris - 2018-09-04
Goodreads Rating
In April 1942, Lale Sokolov, a Slovakian Jew, is forcibly transported to the concentration camps at Auschwitz-Birkenau. When his captors discover that he speaks several languages, he is put to work as a Tätowierer (the German word for tattooist), tasked with permanently marking his fellow prisoners.Imprisoned for more than two and a half years, Lal...
Recommended by
Preeti Shenoy
The Diary Of A Young Girl book cover
The Diary Of A Young Girl
Anne Frank - 2018-01-01 (first published in 1947)
Goodreads Rating
Anne Frank's extraordinary diary, written in the Amsterdam attic where she and her family hid from the Nazis for two years, has become a world classic and a timeless testament to the human spirit. Now, in a new edition enriched by many passages originally withheld by her father, we meet an Anne more real, more human, and more vital than ever. Here ...
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas book cover
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
John Boyne - 2006-09-12
Goodreads Rating
The story of The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas is very difficult to describe. Usually we give some clues about the book on the cover, but in this case we think that would spoil the reading of the book. We think it is important that you start to read without knowing what it is about.If you do start to read this book, you will go on a journey with a nin...
Girl at War book cover
Girl at War
A Novel
Sara Novic - 2016-03-22 (first published in 2015)
Goodreads Rating
For readers of The Tiger’s Wife and All the Light We Cannot See comes a powerful debut novel about a girl’s coming of age—and how her sense of family, friendship, love, and belonging is profoundly shaped by war.   Zagreb, 1991. Ana Jurić is a carefree ten-year-old, living with her family in a small apartment in Croatia’s capital. But that year, civ...