Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Chuck Wendig

Recommended Books

Chuck Wendig is an American author, comic book writer, screenwriter, and blogger. He is best known for his popular online blog Terribleminds, and for his 2015 Star Wars novel Aftermath, which debuted at #4 on The New York Times Best Seller list and #4 on USA Today's best seller list.
11 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Malice House book cover
Malice House
Megan Shepherd - 2022-10-04
Goodreads Rating
“One step away from our world lies another: a land of violent fantasies, of sharp-toothed delights. . . .”Of all the things aspiring artist Haven Marbury expected to find while clearing out her late father’s remote seaside house, Bedtime Stories for Monsters was not on the list. This secret handwritten manuscript is disturbingly different from his ...
Chuck Wendig
2022-05-16T19:00:31.000Z
(Ooh speaking of books I read recently -- just finished MALICE HOUSE by Megan Shepherd, which has one of those spiraling occulty ghosty house mysteries that just keeps drawing you deeper, good stuff there too.)      source
An Immense World book cover
An Immense World
How Animal Senses Reveal the Hidden Realms Around Us
Ed Yong - 2022-06-21
Goodreads Rating
A grand tour through the hidden realms of animal senses that will transform the way you perceive the world...
Chuck Wendig
2022-04-25T22:55:37.000Z
@LindsayLHess Oooh good one. I just read @edyong209 newest -- AN IMMENSE WORLD. An astonishing book that really just dives sensorily into the entire natural realm. Makes you love the world and want to save it. #askwendig      source
Also recommended by
Chris Anderson
Ghost Eaters book cover
Ghost Eaters
A Novel
Clay Chapman - 2022-09-20
Goodreads Rating
For fans of Riley Sager and Paul Tremblay, a terrifying supernatural page-turner that explores ghosts, grief, and god complexes.Ever since their on-again, off-again college romance, Erin hasn’t been able to set a single boundary with charismatic but reckless Silas, who’s been chasing the next big high since graduation. When he texts her to spring h...
Chuck Wendig
2022-03-28T16:30:16.000Z
Enjoyed the heck out of this @claymcleod book. A strange endorsement maybe, but it felt like I was reading a story tangential to the World of Darkness — like, a great WRAITH game or some such. It made me nostalgic for that stuff. Anyway! Be on the lookout.      source
The Pallbearers Club book cover
The Pallbearers Club
A Novel
Paul Tremblay - 2022-07-05
Goodreads Rating
A cleverly voiced psychological thriller about an unforgettable—and unsettling—friendship, with blood-chilling twists, crackling wit, and a thrumming pulse in its veins, from the nationally bestselling author of The Cabin at the End of the World and Survivor Song.What if the coolest girl you've ever met decided to be your friend?Art Barbara was so ...
Chuck Wendig
2022-03-24T22:03:35.000Z
Finished @paulGtremblay’s PALLBEARERS CLUB and holy hell, what a read — in many ways a very different book for him, in content and in feel, while also still playing with the themes that play and persist in the work.      source
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy book cover
The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy
Douglas Adams - 1995-09-27 (first published in 1979)
Goodreads Rating
Seconds before the Earth is demolished to make way for a galactic freeway, Arthur Dent is plucked off the planet by his friend Ford Prefect, a researcher for the revised edition of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy who, for the last fifteen years, has been posing as an out-of-work actor.Together this dynamic pair begin a journey through space ai...
Chuck Wendig
2020-12-04T11:42:26.000Z
@MommaJenks I’ve read the books multiple times myself!      source
The Ghost Orchard book cover
The Ghost Orchard
Helen Humphreys - 2017-11-28
Goodreads Rating
For readers of H is for Hawk and The Frozen Thames, The Ghost Orchard is award-winning author Helen Humphreys’ fascinating journey into the secret history of an iconic food. Delving deep into the storied past of the apple in North America, Humphreys explores the intricate link between agriculture, settlement, and human relationships. With her signa...
Chuck Wendig
2020-11-25T23:15:07.000Z
@bloodredrache read the book GHOST ORCHARDS      source
Keep Moving book cover
Keep Moving
Notes on Loss, Creativity, and Change
Maggie Smith - 2020-10-06
Goodreads Rating
Marie Claire’s The 2020 Books You Should Pre-Order Now The Washington Post’s What to Read in 2020 Based on the Books You Loved in 2019 Parade’s 25 Self-Help Books To Get Your 2020 Off On The Right Foot “Keep Moving speaks to you like an encouraging friend reminding you that you can feel and survive deep loss, sink into life’s deep beauty, and const...
Chuck Wendig
2020-09-18T20:31:26.000Z
This book is wonderful.      source
Also recommended by
Eric Smith
The Book of M book cover
The Book of M
A Novel
Peng Shepherd - 2019-06-25 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
Brad Thor's Summer 2018 Fiction Pick for THE TODAY SHOW!"Eerie, dark, and compelling, [The Book of M] will not disappoint lovers of The Passage (2010) and Station Eleven (2014)." --BooklistWHAT WOULD YOU GIVE UP TO REMEMBER?Set in a dangerous near future world, The Book of M tells the captivating story of a group of ordinary people caught in an ext...
Chuck Wendig
2020-08-18T14:00:30.000Z
This book is PHENOMENAL.      source
Survivor Song book cover
Survivor Song
A Novel
Paul Tremblay - 2020-07-07
Goodreads Rating
“Fresh and surprising. Survivor Song may be one of Tremblay’s best—beautifully detailed, viscerally frightening, and deep with emotional resonance. —Dan Chaon, New York Times bestselling author of Ill WillA riveting novel of suspense and terror from the Bram Stoker award-winning author of The Cabin at the End of the World and A Head Full of Ghosts....
Chuck Wendig
2020-07-28T13:53:39.000Z
Speaking of books that made me wanna be a better writer, I finished @paulGtremblay's SURVIVOR SONG and it's like sprinting on a tightrope over a shark pit. It's very good. Tremblay is a monster and will hurt your soul. The end.      source
Also recommended by
Miguel de Icaza
Afterland book cover
Afterland
Lauren Beukes - 2020-07-28
Goodreads Rating
Blade Runner meets The Handmaid's Tale in this thrilling story of how far a mother will go to protect her son in a hostile world transformed by the sudden absence of men.Cole and her twelve-year-old, Miles, are on the lam. Fleeing across the American West, they're desperate to find a safe haven. Until they do, they must maintain their disguise--as ...
Chuck Wendig
2020-03-12T14:41:53.000Z
Ever read a book that *on the first page* makes you wish you could write HALF as good? Here’s one. (Also about a pandemic, or its aftermath.) cc: @laurenbeukes      source