Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Michael Bloomberg

Recommended Books

Michael Bloomberg is a billionaire entrepreneur and a former three-term New York City mayor. He is the co-founder and majority owner of Bloomberg L.P..
16 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
The Start-up of You book cover
The Start-up of You
Adapt to the Future, Invest in Yourself, and Transform Your Career
Reid Hoffman - 2012-02-14
Goodreads Rating
A blueprint for thriving in your job and building a career by applying the lessons of Silicon Valley’s most innovative entrepreneurs.The career escalator is jammed at every level. Unemployment rates are sky-high. Creative disruption is shaking every industry. Global competition for jobs is fierce. The employer-employee pact is over and traditional ...
Michael Bloomberg
2022-05-03T21:44:38.000Z
When @LinkedIn co-founder @ReidHoffman gives career advice, the world listens. His book, The Startup of You, is being re-released for its 10-year anniversary — and it's a must-read for anyone looking to carve out their career path.      source
Also recommended by
Michael McCullough
Johnny Tremain book cover
Johnny Tremain
Esther Hoskins Forbes - 2011-05-02 (first published in 1943)
Goodreads Rating
Johnny Tremain, winner of the 1944 Newbery Medal, is one of the finest historical novels ever written for children. As compelling today as it was seventy years ago, to read this riveting novel is to live through the defining events leading up to the American Revolutionary War. Fourteen-year-old Johnny Tremain, an apprentice silversmith with a brigh...
Michael Bloomberg
2020-02-27T15:24:45.000Z
My favorite book growing up was “Johnny Tremain,” a story about a teenage messenger & spy during the Revolution. I developed a love for history at an early age, and I’ve emphasized the importance of remembering the lessons of our past as we think about building a better future.      source
It's How We Play the Game book cover
It's How We Play the Game
Build a Business. Take a Stand. Make a Difference.
Ed Stack - 2019-10-08
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Phil Knights Shoe Dog and Howard Schultzs Onward, an inspiring memoir from the CEO of DICKs Sporting Goods about building a multibillion dollar business, coming to the defense of embattled youth sports programs, and taking a principledand highly controversialstand against the types of guns that are too often used in mass shootings an...
Michael Bloomberg
Ed Stack's story—told with honesty and a deep sense of corporate responsibility—shows that you can build a great business and stand up for what you believe in.      source
Civic Pioneers book cover
Civic Pioneers
Local Stories from a Changing America, 1895-1915
Gretchen Dykstra - 2019-04-23
Goodreads Rating
At the turn of the 20th century, when industrialization, urbanization, and immigration were radically changing the face of America, an activist government was taking root across the nation. Innovative public servants fought to meet the needs of ordinary people who didn't have access to the benefits afforded by wealth and power. From a lonely champi...
Michael Bloomberg
From big cities to rural towns, Pioneers is a smart new look at America's history of local innovation--by someone who has helped lead it.      source
Principles book cover
Principles
Life and Work
Ray Dalio - 2017-09-19 (first published in 2011)
Goodreads Rating
Ray Dalio, one of the world’s most successful investors and entrepreneurs, shares the unconventional principles that he’s developed, refined, and used over the past forty years to create unique results in both life and business—and which any person or organization can adopt to help achieve their goals.In 1975, Ray Dalio founded an investment firm, ...
Michael Bloomberg
Ray Dalio’s market acumen is legendary, but it was creating and living by a set of principles that allowed him to reach the top. Everyone with goals and dreams can learn from Ray’s approach.      source
Gratitude in Low Voices book cover
Gratitude in Low Voices
A Memoir
Dawit Gebremichael Habte - 2017-04-18
Goodreads Rating
Our bodies started shaking from the cold and shock, yet we were so terrified of being caught that we had to keep our teeth clenched together to keep them from chattering; we could not allow ourselves to make any sound. Whenever we heard a sound or detected motion, we would stare in that direction, even though we could see nothing but dark. Dawit Ge...
Michael Bloomberg
A candid, inspiring memoir of cultural and historical importance.      source
The Innovator's Dilemma book cover
The Innovator's Dilemma
When New Technologies Cause Great Firms to Fail
Clayton M. Christensen - 2016-01-05 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
The bestselling classic on disruptive innovation, by renowned author Clayton M. Christensen. His work is cited by the world’s best-known thought leaders, from Steve Jobs to Malcolm Gladwell. In this classic bestseller—one of the most influential business books of all time—innovation expert Clayton Christensen shows how even the most outstanding com...
Michael Bloomberg
Absolutely brilliant. Clayton Christensen provides an insightful analysis of changing technology and its importance to a company’s future success.      source
The Resilience Dividend book cover
The Resilience Dividend
Being Strong in a World Where Things Go Wrong
Judith Rodin - 2014-11-11
Goodreads Rating
New York. Athens. Boston. Tohoku. Newtown. Oslo. West. Wenzhou. New Orleans. Dhaka. Moore. Nairobi.These communities are just a few among the many that have been hit hard by one of the wicked problems of todays world: natural catastrophe, disease and contagion, systems or social collapse. If you havent been directly touched by one of these disrupti...
Michael Bloomberg
Judith Rodin's groundbreaking work at the Rockefeller Foundation is helping cities adapt to a changing climate–and a changing world. In her new book, The Resilience Dividend, she lays out a powerful case for why governments and companies should prepare for-and not just react to–disruptions to business as usual.      source
If Mayors Ruled the World book cover
If Mayors Ruled the World
Dysfunctional Nations, Rising Cities
Benjamin R. Barber - 2014-09-30 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
Can cities solve the biggest problems of the twenty-first century better than nations? Is the city democracys best hope? In the face of the most perilous challenges of our timeclimate change, terrorism, poverty, and trafficking of drugs, guns, and peoplethe nations of the world seem paralyzed. The problems are too big, too interdependent, too divis...
Michael Bloomberg
A provocative look at how cities can and do lead from the front in addressing the most pressing issues of our time.      source
Exploring Historic Dutch New York book cover
Exploring Historic Dutch New York
New York City * Hudson Valley * New Jersey * Delaware
Gajus Scheltema - 2011-06-29
Goodreads Rating
"The Dutch spirit of diversity, tolerance, and entrepreneurship still echoes across our city streets today. This guide will highlight the history of the early settlements of these new world pioneers as well as the incredible impact they had, and still have, on the world's greatest city." Michael R. Bloomberg, Mayor, City of New YorkThis comprehensi...
Michael Bloomberg
The Dutch spirit of diversity, tolerance, and entrepreneurship still echoes across our city streets today. This guide will highlight the history of the early settlements of these new world pioneers as well as the incredible impact they had, and still have, on the world’s greatest city.      source
Brain Gain book cover
Brain Gain
Darrell M. West - 2010-06-15
Urban Green by Peter Harnik
Legacy of Honor by Alvin Townley
Lighter Than Air by George Mahlberg
The Savage Truth On Money by Terry Savage
The Cost of Winning by Michael H. Cosgrove