Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Michael Bloomberg

philanthropist
politician

Recommended Books

Michael Bloomberg is a billionaire entrepreneur and a former three-term New York City mayor. He is the co-founder and majority owner of Bloomberg L.P..
14 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
It's How We Play the Game
Build a Business. Take a Stand. Make a Difference.
Ed Stack - Oct 08, 2019
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Phil Knights Shoe Dog and Howard Schultzs Onward, an inspiring memoir from the CEO of DICKs Sporting Goods about building a multibillion dollar business, coming to the defense of embattled youth sports programs, and taking a principledand highly controversialstand against the types of guns that are too often used in mass shootings an...
Michael Bloomberg
Ed Stack's story—told with honesty and a deep sense of corporate responsibility—shows that you can build a great business and stand up for what you believe in.     source
Civic Pioneers
Local Stories from a Changing America, 1895-1915
Gretchen Dykstra - Apr 23, 2019
Goodreads Rating
At the turn of the 20th century, when industrialization, urbanization, and immigration were radically changing the face of America, an activist government was taking root across the nation. Innovative public servants fought to meet the needs of ordinary people who didn't have access to the benefits afforded by wealth and power. From a lonely champ...
Michael Bloomberg
From big cities to rural towns, Pioneers is a smart new look at America's history of local innovation--by someone who has helped lead it.     source
Principles
Life and Work
Ray Dalio - Sep 19, 2017 (first published in 2011)
Goodreads Rating
Ray Dalio, one of the world’s most successful investors and entrepreneurs, shares the unconventional principles that he’s developed, refined, and used over the past forty years to create unique results in both life and business—and which any person or organization can adopt to help achieve their goals.In 1975, Ray Dalio founded an investment firm, ...
Michael Bloomberg
Ray Dalio’s market acumen is legendary, but it was creating and living by a set of principles that allowed him to reach the top. Everyone with goals and dreams can learn from Ray’s approach.     source
Gratitude in Low Voices
A Memoir
Dawit Gebremichael Habte - Apr 18, 2017
Goodreads Rating
Our bodies started shaking from the cold and shock, yet we were so terrified of being caught that we had to keep our teeth clenched together to keep them from chattering; we could not allow ourselves to make any sound. Whenever we heard a sound or detected motion, we would stare in that direction, even though we could see nothing but dark. Dawit Ge...
Michael Bloomberg
A candid, inspiring memoir of cultural and historical importance.     source
The Innovator's Dilemma
When New Technologies Cause Great Firms to Fail
Clayton M. Christensen - Jan 05, 2016 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
The bestselling classic on disruptive innovation, by renowned author Clayton M. Christensen. His work is cited by the world’s best-known thought leaders, from Steve Jobs to Malcolm Gladwell. In this classic bestseller—one of the most influential business books of all time—innovation expert Clayton Christensen shows how even the most outstanding com...
Michael Bloomberg
Absolutely brilliant. Clayton Christensen provides an insightful analysis of changing technology and its importance to a company’s future success.     source
The Resilience Dividend
Being Strong in a World Where Things Go Wrong
Judith Rodin - Nov 11, 2014
Goodreads Rating
New York. Athens. Boston. Tohoku. Newtown. Oslo. West. Wenzhou. New Orleans. Dhaka. Moore. Nairobi.These communities are just a few among the many that have been hit hard by one of the wicked problems of todays world: natural catastrophe, disease and contagion, systems or social collapse. If you havent been directly touched by one of these disrupti...
Michael Bloomberg
Judith Rodin's groundbreaking work at the Rockefeller Foundation is helping cities adapt to a changing climate–and a changing world. In her new book, The Resilience Dividend, she lays out a powerful case for why governments and companies should prepare for-and not just react to–disruptions to business as usual.     source
If Mayors Ruled the World
Dysfunctional Nations, Rising Cities
Benjamin R. Barber - Sep 30, 2014 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
Can cities solve the biggest problems of the twenty-first century better than nations? Is the city democracys best hope? In the face of the most perilous challenges of our timeclimate change, terrorism, poverty, and trafficking of drugs, guns, and peoplethe nations of the world seem paralyzed. The problems are too big, too interdependent, too divis...
Michael Bloomberg
A provocative look at how cities can and do lead from the front in addressing the most pressing issues of our time.     source
Exploring Historic Dutch New York
New York City * Hudson Valley * New Jersey * Delaware
Gajus Scheltema - Jun 29, 2011
Goodreads Rating
"The Dutch spirit of diversity, tolerance, and entrepreneurship still echoes across our city streets today. This guide will highlight the history of the early settlements of these new world pioneers as well as the incredible impact they had, and still have, on the world's greatest city." Michael R. Bloomberg, Mayor, City of New YorkThis comprehens...
Michael Bloomberg
The Dutch spirit of diversity, tolerance, and entrepreneurship still echoes across our city streets today. This guide will highlight the history of the early settlements of these new world pioneers as well as the incredible impact they had, and still have, on the world’s greatest city.     source
Brain Gain
Rethinking U.S. Immigration Policy (Brookings FOCUS Book)
Darrell M. West - Jun 15, 2010
Goodreads Rating
Many of America's greatest artists, scientists, investors, educators, and entrepreneurs have come from abroad. Rather than suffering from the "brain drain" of talented and educated individuals emigrating, the United States has benefited greatly over the years from the "brain gain" of immigration. These gifted immigrants have engineered advances in ...
Michael Bloomberg
Darrell West understands that more than any stimulus or bailout, the most important step we can take to strengthen America's long-term economic health is passing comprehensive immigration reform. For America to compete in the 21st century, we need to be able to attract—and keep—the world's best, brightest, and hardest working. Everyone knows our immigration system is broken, but West provides the kind of facts and analysis we need to move the issue forward in Washington.     source
Urban Green
Innovative Parks for Resurgent Cities
Peter Harnik - Apr 14, 2010
Goodreads Rating
For years American urban parks fell into decay due to disinvestment, but as cities began to reboundand evidence of the economic, cultural, and health benefits of parks grew investment in urban parks swelled. The U.S. Conference of Mayors recently cited meeting the growing demand for parks and open space as one of the biggest challenges for urban le...
Michael Bloomberg
Peter Harnik …reveals how the push to preserve and promote our nation's urban parks is one of the most exciting frontiers in urban planning, dramatically changing the way we think about what is possible in a 21st-century city.     source
Legacy of Honor
The Values and Influence of America's Eagle Scouts
Alvin Townley - Mar 03, 2009 (first published in 2006)
Goodreads Rating
Over the past century, America's Eagle Scouts have earned a reputation for service, virtue, and leadership that is recognized throughout the world. But few people realize the full extent to which Eagle Scouts have made a mark on American history. They have served as astronauts, soldiers, politicians, and businessmen, but they have also been the fat...
Michael Bloomberg
Whether you choose to become a teacher, a police officer, a doctor, or even the mayor of the greatest city in the world, your experiences as an Eagle Scout will prove invaluable. Alvin Townley's Legacy of Honor does justice to the proud history and bright future of the Eagle Scouts     source
Lighter Than Air by George Mahlberg
The Savage Truth On Money by Terry Savage
The Cost of Winning by Michael H. Cosgrove