Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksListsMy Library 0Sign In

Michael Bloomberg

philanthropist
politician

Recommended Books

Michael Bloomberg is a billionaire entrepreneur and a former three-term New York City mayor. He is the co-founder and majority owner of Bloomberg L.P..
14 books on this list
Sort by
Best
Layout
Principles
Life and Work
by Ray Dalio (Sep 19, 2017)
Goodreads Rating
Ray Dalio, one of the world’s most successful investors and entrepreneurs, shares the unconventional principles that he’s developed, refined, and used over the past forty years to create unique results in both life and business—and which any person or organization can adopt to help achieve their goals.In 1975, Ray Dalio founded an investment firm, ...
Michael Bloomberg
Ray Dalio’s market acumen is legendary, but it was creating and living by a set of principles that allowed him to reach the top. Everyone with goals and dreams can learn from Ray’s approach.     source
The Innovator's Dilemma
When New Technologies Cause Great Firms to Fail
by Clayton M. Christensen (Jan 05, 2016)
Goodreads Rating
Categories: BusinessNonfiction
The bestselling classic on disruptive innovation, by renowned author Clayton M. Christensen. His work is cited by the worlds best-known thought leaders, from Steve Jobs to Malcolm Gladwell. In this classic bestsellerone of the most influential business books of all timeinnovation expert Clayton Christensen shows how even the most outstanding compan...
Michael Bloomberg
Absolutely brilliant. Clayton Christensen provides an insightful analysis of changing technology and its importance to a company’s future success.     source
Legacy of Honor
The Values and Influence of America's Eagle Scouts
by Alvin Townley (Mar 03, 2009)
Goodreads Rating
Over the past century, America's Eagle Scouts have earned a reputation for service, virtue, and leadership that is recognized throughout the world. But few people realize the full extent to which Eagle Scouts have made a mark on American history. They have served as astronauts, soldiers, politicians, and businessmen, but they have also been the fat...
Michael Bloomberg
Whether you choose to become a teacher, a police officer, a doctor, or even the mayor of the greatest city in the world, your experiences as an Eagle Scout will prove invaluable. Alvin Townley's Legacy of Honor does justice to the proud history and bright future of the Eagle Scouts     source
It's How We Play the Game
Build a Business. Take a Stand. Make a Difference.
by Ed Stack (Oct 08, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Phil Knights Shoe Dog and Howard Schultzs Onward, an inspiring memoir from the CEO of DICKs Sporting Goods about building a multibillion dollar business, coming to the defense of embattled youth sports programs, and taking a principledand highly controversialstand against the types of guns that are too often used in mass shootings an...
Michael Bloomberg
Ed Stack's story—told with honesty and a deep sense of corporate responsibility—shows that you can build a great business and stand up for what you believe in.     source
Civic Pioneers
Local Stories from a Changing America, 1895-1915
by Gretchen Dykstra (Apr 23, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
Categories: HistoryNonfiction
At the turn of the 20th century, when industrialization, urbanization, and immigration were radically changing the face of America, an activist government was taking root across the nation. Innovative public servants fought to meet the needs of ordinary people who didn't have access to the benefits afforded by wealth and power. From a lonely champ...
Michael Bloomberg
From big cities to rural towns, Pioneers is a smart new look at America's history of local innovation--by someone who has helped lead it.     source
Gratitude in Low Voices
A Memoir
by Dawit Gebremichael Habte (Apr 18, 2017)
Goodreads Rating
Our bodies started shaking from the cold and shock, yet we were so terrified of being caught that we had to keep our teeth clenched together to keep them from chattering; we could not allow ourselves to make any sound. Whenever we heard a sound or detected motion, we would stare in that direction, even though we could see nothing but dark. Dawit Ge...
Michael Bloomberg
A candid, inspiring memoir of cultural and historical importance.     source
Lighter Than Air
by George Mahlberg (Nov 15, 2000)
Categories: Fiction
Paris, 1901. The Heady Days of La Belle Epoch When Flight was only a Distant Possibility...Except for a Few.The Wright Brothers have Yet to Make Aviation History when a Wealthy Frenchman Offers a Million Francs to Anyone Who can Fly around the Eiffel Tower. The Challenge Leads to Intrigue, Sabotage and Murder when Three Nations Compete to Rule the ...
Michael Bloomberg
A wonderful addition to my library.     source
Urban Green
Innovative Parks for Resurgent Cities
by Peter Harnik (Apr 14, 2010)
Goodreads Rating
For years American urban parks fell into decay due to disinvestment, but as cities began to reboundand evidence of the economic, cultural, and health benefits of parks grew investment in urban parks swelled. The U.S. Conference of Mayors recently cited meeting the growing demand for parks and open space as one of the biggest challenges for urban le...
Michael Bloomberg
Peter Harnik …reveals how the push to preserve and promote our nation's urban parks is one of the most exciting frontiers in urban planning, dramatically changing the way we think about what is possible in a 21st-century city.     source
Brain Gain
Rethinking U.S. Immigration Policy (Brookings FOCUS Book)
by Darrell M. West (Jun 15, 2010)
Goodreads Rating
Many of America's greatest artists, scientists, investors, educators, and entrepreneurs have come from abroad. Rather than suffering from the "brain drain" of talented and educated individuals emigrating, the United States has benefited greatly over the years from the "brain gain" of immigration. These gifted immigrants have engineered advances in ...
Michael Bloomberg
Darrell West understands that more than any stimulus or bailout, the most important step we can take to strengthen America's long-term economic health is passing comprehensive immigration reform. For America to compete in the 21st century, we need to be able to attract—and keep—the world's best, brightest, and hardest working. Everyone knows our immigration system is broken, but West provides the kind of facts and analysis we need to move the issue forward in Washington.     source
Exploring Historic Dutch New York
New York City * Hudson Valley * New Jersey * Delaware
by Gajus Scheltema (Jun 29, 2011)
Goodreads Rating
Categories: Nonfiction
"The Dutch spirit of diversity, tolerance, and entrepreneurship still echoes across our city streets today. This guide will highlight the history of the early settlements of these new world pioneers as well as the incredible impact they had, and still have, on the world's greatest city." Michael R. Bloomberg, Mayor, City of New YorkThis comprehens...
Michael Bloomberg
The Dutch spirit of diversity, tolerance, and entrepreneurship still echoes across our city streets today. This guide will highlight the history of the early settlements of these new world pioneers as well as the incredible impact they had, and still have, on the world’s greatest city.     source
The Resilience Dividend
Being Strong in a World Where Things Go Wrong
by Judith Rodin (Nov 11, 2014)
Goodreads Rating
New York. Athens. Boston. Tohoku. Newtown. Oslo. West. Wenzhou. New Orleans. Dhaka. Moore. Nairobi.These communities are just a few among the many that have been hit hard by one of the wicked problems of todays world: natural catastrophe, disease and contagion, systems or social collapse. If you havent been directly touched by one of these disrupti...
Michael Bloomberg
Judith Rodin's groundbreaking work at the Rockefeller Foundation is helping cities adapt to a changing climate–and a changing world. In her new book, The Resilience Dividend, she lays out a powerful case for why governments and companies should prepare for-and not just react to–disruptions to business as usual.     source
The Savage Truth On Money
by Terry Savage (Sep 22, 1999)
Goodreads Rating
Does the thought of saving for retirement, investing online, coping with debt, or paying for college leave you fearful and frazzled? Are you confused and intimidated by "expert financial advice" you can't understand? You need The Savage Truth On Money-from the cash in your pocket to the world of online investing. The candid and up-front advice in ...
Michael Bloomberg
Whether you're a millionaire or just starting out, Terry Savage has the necessary information for financial stability. Easy to read and full of great tips, The Savage Truth On Money should be required reading for anyone who wants sound advice to plan for the future     source
If Mayors Ruled the World
Dysfunctional Nations, Rising Cities
by Benjamin R. Barber (Sep 30, 2014)
Goodreads Rating
Can cities solve the biggest problems of the twenty-first century better than nations? Is the city democracys best hope? In the face of the most perilous challenges of our timeclimate change, terrorism, poverty, and trafficking of drugs, guns, and peoplethe nations of the world seem paralyzed. The problems are too big, too interdependent, too divis...
Michael Bloomberg
A provocative look at how cities can and do lead from the front in addressing the most pressing issues of our time.     source
The Cost of Winning
Global Development Policies and Broken Social Contracts
by Michael H. Cosgrove (Dec 31, 1994)
In The Cost of Winning, Michael H. Cosgrove describes how the United States used economic policies to contain the Soviet Union during the post-World War n era and how those policies turned a vibrant American economy into one of broken promises and declining power. Cosgrove defines and examines the five economic building blocks used to contain the S...
Michael Bloomberg
I read The Cost of Winning with great interest because it is always valuable to read a political chronicle from the other side. Despite our political differences, I thought Cosgrove’s arguments had a lot of validity. Disturbing as it may be to think that our society is headed for inevitable decline, The Cost of Winning is a shrewd, persuasive account that American society is in for some troubling times. Well done.     source