Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

J Wolfgang Goerlich

Recommended Books

J Wolfgang Goerlich is a cyber security strategist and an active part of the Michigan security community. He co-founded the OWASP Detroit chapter and organizes the annual Converge and BSides Detroit conferences.
6 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Engineering a Safer World book cover
Engineering a Safer World
Systems Thinking Applied to Safety (Engineering Systems)
Nancy G. Leveson - 2016-12-16 (first published in 2012)
Goodreads Rating
A new approach to safety, based on systems thinking, that is more effective, less costly, and easier to use than current techniques.Engineering has experienced a technological revolution, but the basic engineering techniques applied in safety and reliability engineering, created in a simpler, analog world, have changed very little over the years. I...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
2022-09-11T15:09:05.000Z
@AccidentalCISO Engineering a Safer World: Systems Thinking Applied to Safety. Check it. @CisoHelen recommended the book to me. I'm slowly catching up to both of you. Also, I'm including stories from Engineering a Safer World in my CircleCityCon talk.      source
Remember book cover
Remember
The Science of Memory and the Art of Forgetting
Lisa Genova - 2021-03-23
Goodreads Rating
A fascinating exploration of the intricacies of how we remember, why we forget, and what we can do to protect our memories, from the Harvard-trained neuroscientist and bestselling author of Still Alice.Have you ever felt a crushing wave of panic when you can't for the life of you remember the name of that actor in the movie you saw last week, or yo...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
2021-09-04T14:06:27.000Z
@DAkacki My favorite non-fiction book of the year: Remember: The Science of Memory and the Art of Forgetting, by Lisa Genova Helped me contextualize my memory (or lack thereof) and build strategies for learning. I also used the material when developing a zero trust workshop. Insightful.      source
Being Wrong book cover
Being Wrong
Adventures in the Margin of Error
Kathryn Schulz - 2011-01-04 (first published in 2010)
Goodreads Rating
The bestselling history of and investigation into human error by beloved New Yorker writer Kathryn Schulz“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New PlanetIn the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Pred...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
2021-02-03T18:41:16.000Z
@ScotF13 @MissIG_Geek Ha! If you haven't read it, I highly recommend the book Being Wrong. Eye-opening.      source
Also recommended by
Peter AttiaRachel Botsman
Made in Russia book cover
Made in Russia
Unsung Icons of Soviet Design
Michael Idov - 2011-04-12
Goodreads Rating
This irreverent survey celebrates the more populist and enduring work in graphic and industrial design that was a product of the Soviet era - a period that remain politically sensitive and under-explored, yet whose influence on the objects and aesthetics of Russian life and thought has been profound. Made in Russia presents fifty such masterpieces,...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
2021-01-22T18:07:02.000Z
@magiceldridge Have you seen the book, Made in Russia? Many fascinating off-beat designs from that era.      source
Range book cover
Range
Why Generalists Triumph in a Specialized World
David Epstein - 2021-04-27 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
The #1 New York Times bestseller that has all America talking: as seen/heard on CNN's Fareed Zakaria GPS, Morning Joe, CBS This Morning, The Bill Simmons Podcast, Rich Roll, and more."The most important business--and parenting--book of the year." --Forbes"Urgent and important. . . an essential read for bosses, parents, coaches, and anyone who cares...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
2020-12-30T00:50:05.000Z
@wendynather @Bosefina I read Range back in March while on vacation. Excellent book, filled with relevant stories, that spoke to value of generalists in connecting the dots. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️, would recommend.      source
Barefoot Into Cyberspace book cover
Barefoot Into Cyberspace
Adventures in Search of Techno-Utopia
Becky Hogge - 2011-07-27
Goodreads Rating
Barefoot into Cyberspace is an inside account of radical hacker culture and the forces that shape it, told in the year WikiLeaks took subversive geek politics into the mainstream. Including some of the earliest on-record material with Julian Assange you are likely to read, Barefoot Into Cyberspace is the ultimate guided tour of the hopes and ideals...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
2020-01-18T19:38:58.000Z
@PhantomSpaceCop @seanfsez Nice! I’m in. If you’re on a history kick, might I recommend a book? “Barefoot Into Cyberspace: Adventures in Search of Techno-Utopia” does a great job of framing the early activist and counter-culture aspects of hacker culture.      source