Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

J Wolfgang Goerlich

engineer

Recommended Books

J Wolfgang Goerlich is a cyber security strategist and an active part of the Michigan security community. He co-founded the OWASP Detroit chapter and organizes the annual Converge and BSides Detroit conferences.
4 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Being Wrong
Adventures in the Margin of Error
Kathryn Schulz - Jan 04, 2011 (first published in 2010)
Goodreads Rating
The bestselling history of and investigation into human error by beloved New Yorker writer Kathryn Schulz“Both wise and clever, full of fun and surprise about a topic so central to our lives that we almost never even think about it.”—Bill McKibben, author of Earth: Making a Life on a Tough New PlanetIn the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and Pred...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
Feb 03, 2021
@ScotF13 @MissIG_Geek Ha! If you haven't read it, I highly recommend the book Being Wrong. Eye-opening.      source
Also recommended by
Peter AttiaRachel Botsman
Made in Russia
Unsung Icons of Soviet Design
Michael Idov - Apr 12, 2011
Goodreads Rating
This irreverent survey celebrates the more populist and enduring work in graphic and industrial design that was a product of the Soviet era - a period that remain politically sensitive and under-explored, yet whose influence on the objects and aesthetics of Russian life and thought has been profound. Made in Russia presents fifty such masterpieces,...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
Jan 22, 2021
@magiceldridge Have you seen the book, Made in Russia? Many fascinating off-beat designs from that era.      source
Range
Why Generalists Triumph in a Specialized World
David Epstein - May 28, 2019
Goodreads Rating
What's the most effective path to success in any domain? It's not what you think. ...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
Dec 30, 2020
@wendynather @Bosefina I read Range back in March while on vacation. Excellent book, filled with relevant stories, that spoke to value of generalists in connecting the dots. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️, would recommend.      source
Barefoot Into Cyberspace
Adventures in Search of Techno-Utopia
Becky Hogge - Jul 27, 2011
Goodreads Rating
Barefoot into Cyberspace is an inside account of radical hacker culture and the forces that shape it, told in the year WikiLeaks took subversive geek politics into the mainstream. Including some of the earliest on-record material with Julian Assange you are likely to read, Barefoot Into Cyberspace is the ultimate guided tour of the hopes and ideals...
J Wolfgang Goerlich
Jan 18, 2020
@PhantomSpaceCop @seanfsez Nice! I’m in. If you’re on a history kick, might I recommend a book? “Barefoot Into Cyberspace: Adventures in Search of Techno-Utopia” does a great job of framing the early activist and counter-culture aspects of hacker culture.      source