Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Ann Miura-Ko

entrepreneur
investor

Recommended Books

7 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
How Will You Measure Your Life?
Clayton M. Christensen - May 15, 2012
Goodreads Rating
How do you lead a fulfilling life? That profound question animates this book of inspiration and insight from world-class business strategist and bestselling author of The Innovator's Dilemma, Clayton Christensen.After beating a heart attack, advanced-stage cancer and a stroke in three successive years, the world-renowned innovation expert and autho...
Ann Miura-Ko
Jan 25, 2020
@msquinn I so agree. I think about this book often      source
Also recommended by
Akin OyebodeMike Maples, Jr.
Circe
Madeline Miller - Apr 14, 2020
Goodreads Rating
In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe is a strange child—not powerful, like her father, nor viciously alluring like her mother. Turning to the world of mortals for companionship, she discovers that she does possess power—the power of witchcraft, which can transform rivals into monsters and...
Ann Miura-Ko
Dec 23, 2019
Halfway through. Highly recommended if you’re looking for a fiction book to finish out the year. Think I may try to fit in a history book before 2020. Any recommendations?      source
The Night Tiger
A Novel
Yangsze Choo - Jan 07, 2020 (first published in 2019)
Goodreads Rating
The Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club PickINSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER“A sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world.” —Kirkus (starred review)An utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin LeeQuick-witted, ambitious Ji Lin is stuck...
What School Could Be
Insights and Inspiration from Teachers Across America
Ted Dintersmith - Jun 18, 2019
Goodreads Rating
During the 2016 school year, innovation expert Ted Dintersmith took an unprecedented trip across America. He visited all fifty states, seeking to raise awareness about the urgent need to reimagine education to prepare students for the career and citizenship demands of an increasingly-innovative world.As he traveled, though, Dintersmith met innovati...
Ann Miura-Ko
Reading What School Could Be has not only given me hope, but also a desire to see real change in the public school education system.      source
Kite Runner
Aug 23, 2018 (first published in 2003)
Goodreads Rating
Afghanistan, 1975: Twelve-year-old Amir is desperate to win the local kite-fighting tournament and his loyal friend Hassan promises to help him. But neither of the boys can foresee what will happen to Hassan that afternoon, an event, that is to shatter their lives. After the Russians invade and the family is forced to flee to America, Amir realises...
Also recommended by
Tulsi Gabbard James Altucher
A Thousand Splendid Suns
Khaled Hosseini - Nov 25, 2008
Goodreads Rating
After 103 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list and with four million copies of The Kite Runner shipped, Khaled Hosseini returns with a beautiful, riveting, and haunting novel that confirms his place as one of the most important literary writers today.Propelled by the same superb instinct for storytelling that made The Kite Runner a beloved c...
Ann Miura-Ko
I would encourage people to read it because it gives you a sense of Afghanistan’s incredible history and the role women have played within that history.      source
Also recommended by
Emma WatsonJames Altucher
A Theory of Justice
John Rawls - Mar 30, 2005 (first published in 1971)
Goodreads Rating
Since it appeared in 1971, John Rawls's A Theory of Justice has become a classic. The author has now revised the original edition to clear up a number of difficulties he and others have found in the original book.Rawls aims to express an essential part of the common core of the democratic tradition - justice as fairness - and to provide an alternat...
Ann Miura-Ko
Actually a dialogue and a real logical debate.      source