Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksSign In

Ben Domenech

author
blogger
publisher
tv

Recommended Books

Ben Domenech is an American conservative writer, blogger, and television commentator. He is the co-founder and the publisher of The Federalist, host of The Federalist Radio Hour, and writes The Transom, a daily subscription newsletter for political insiders.
4 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Apollo's Arrow
The Profound and Enduring Impact of Coronavirus on the Way We Live
Nicholas A. Christakis - Oct 27, 2020
Goodreads Rating
A piercing and scientifically grounded look at the emergence of the coronavirus pandemic and how it will change the way we live — "this year's must-must-read." (Daniel Gilbert)  Apollo's Arrow offers a riveting account of the impact of the coronavirus pandemic as it swept through American society in 2020, and of how the recovery will unfold in the ...
Ben Domenech
Dec 31, 2020
I recommend reading Christakis' Covid book, Apollo's Arrow, on my 2020 list, but not because of his opinions, which universally favor China and authoritarian responses. This thread from March appears almost verbatim in the book:      source
Memoirs of Hadrian
Marguerite Yourcenar - May 18, 2005 (first published in 1951)
Goodreads Rating
Both an exploration of character and a reflection on the meaning of history, Memoirs of Hadrian has received international acclaim since its first publication in France in 1951. In it, Marguerite Yourcenar reimagines the Emperor Hadrian's arduous boyhood, his triumphs and reversals, and finally, as emperor, his gradual reordering of a war-torn worl...
Ben Domenech
Mar 14, 2020
MEMOIRS OF HADRIAN, by Marguerite Yourcenar, is a brilliant book even almost 70 years after publication.      source
Also recommended by
Ryan Holiday
Crime and Punishment
Fyodor Dostoevsky - Jan 24, 2017 (first published in 1866)
Goodreads Rating
Raskolnikov, a destitute and desperate former student, wanders through the slums of St Petersburg and commits a random murder without remorse or regret. He imagines himself to be a great man, a Napoleon: acting for a higher purpose beyond conventional moral law. But as he embarks on a dangerous game of cat and mouse with a suspicious police investi...
Ben Domenech
Feb 18, 2020
@SohrabAhmari @li88yinc @jgcrum @BlueBoxDave @InezFeltscher @JarrettStepman Maybe the best book ever written.      source
Conspiracy
Peter Thiel, Hulk Hogan, Gawker, and the Anatomy of Intrigue
Ryan Holiday - Feb 27, 2018
Goodreads Rating
In the tradition of Janet Malcolm's THE JOURNALIST AND THE MURDERER and Robert Greene's THE 48 LAWS OF POWER, author Ryan Holiday examines the case that rocked the media world--and the billionaire mastermind behind itIn 2007, a short blogpost on Valleywag, the Silicon Valley-vertical of Gawker Media, outed PayPal founder and billionaire investor Pe...
Ben Domenech
Mar 02, 2018
This book is required reading.      source