Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Amy Dickinson

Recommended Books

Amy Dickinson is an American newspaper columnist who writes the syndicated advice column Ask Amy. Dickinson has appeared as a social commentator on ABC's Good Morning America and NBC's The Today Show.
6 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
The Woman in the Window book cover
The Woman in the Window
A Novel
A. J Finn - 2019-03-05
Goodreads Rating
For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade's most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-five languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house. It isn't paranoi...
Amy Dickinson
2021-05-16T00:28:47.000Z
Has anyone seen A Woman in the Window on @netflix ? I did enjoy the book.      source
Also recommended by
Augusten Burroughs
Atomic Habits book cover
Atomic Habits
An Easy & Proven Way to Build Good Habits & Break Bad Ones
James Clear - 2018-10-16
Goodreads Rating
The instant New York Times bestseller. Over 1 million copies sold! Tiny Changes, Remarkable Results No matter your goals, Atomic Habits offers a proven framework for improving--every day. James Clear, one of the world's leading experts on habit formation, reveals practical strategies that will teach you exactly how to form good habits, break bad on...
Amy Dickinson
2021-05-02T23:47:23.000Z
This week's newsletter: I'm making it habitual! Quoting @JamesClear - whose book, Atomic Habits has reframed some of my thinking. Asking Amy Issue #9: Habit keeping      source
She's Not There book cover
She's Not There
A Life in Two Genders
Jennifer Finney Boylan - 2013-04-30 (first published in 2003)
Goodreads Rating
The provocative bestseller She’s Not There is the winning, utterly surprising story of a person changing genders. By turns hilarious and deeply moving, Jennifer Finney Boylan explores the territory that lies between men and women, examines changing friendships, and rejoices in the redeeming power of family. Told in Boylan’s fresh voice, She’s Not T...
Amy Dickinson
2021-03-13T19:39:51.000Z
@petersagal @JennyBoylan I recommended this wonderful book in my column, responding to the very first question I ever received about trans issues, in 2003. It really is a great memoir.      source
The Incomplete Book of Running book cover
The Incomplete Book of Running
Peter Sagal - 2019-09-10 (first published in 2018)
Goodreads Rating
Peter Sagal, the host of NPR’s Wait Wait...Don’t Tell Me! and a popular columnist for Runner’s World, shares “commentary and reflection about running with a deeply felt personal story, this book is winning, smart, honest, and affecting. Whether you are a runner or not, it will move you” (Susan Orlean).On the verge of turning forty, Peter Sagal—brai...
Amy Dickinson
2020-12-11T17:08:37.000Z
.... ANNND egged on by @petersagal and his book The Incomplete Book of Running, I have been clopping up and down the road through the snow like an old draft horse - and feeling GOOD      source
How to Be an Antiracist book cover
How to Be an Antiracist
Ibram X. Kendi - 2019-08-13
Goodreads Rating
Ibram X. Kendi's concept of antiracism reenergizes and reshapes the conversation about racial justice in America--but even more fundamentally, points us toward liberating new ways of thinking about ourselves and each other. In How to be an Antiracist, Kendi asks us to think about what an antiracist society might look like, and how we can play an ac...
Amy Dickinson
2020-06-29T15:29:17.000Z
In yesterday's #AskAmy column - I somewhat tamely suggested that someone become an "ally" toward POC and push back against bigotry (I recommended reading "How to be an Antiracist"). This has really brought out some super-fragile haters. Fun for a Monday.      source
Also recommended by
Jared SpoolGina Schreck
Maybe You Should Talk to Someone book cover
Maybe You Should Talk to Someone
A Therapist, HER Therapist, and Our Lives Revealed
Lori Gottlieb - 2019-04-02
Goodreads Rating
One day, Lori Gottlieb is a therapist who helps patients in her Los Angeles practice. The next, a crisis causes her world to come crashing down. Enter Wendell, the quirky but seasoned therapist in whose office she suddenly lands. With his balding head, cardigan, and khakis, he seems to have come straight from Therapist Central Casting. Yet he will ...
Amy Dickinson
2018-07-19T20:56:19.000Z
When nice people ask me where I get the wisdom, or smarts, or compassion, or whatever it is that enables me to give #advice - I say it’s through my experience in therapy. And @LoriGottlieb1 ‘s wonderful memoir is the best book I’ve ever read about about that process.      source