Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Demis Hassabis

entrepreneur
executive

Recommended Books

Demis Hassabis CBE FRS FREng FRSA is a British artificial intelligence researcher, neuroscientist, video game designer, entrepreneur, and five times winner of the Pentamind board games championship. He is the founder and CEO of DeepMind
4 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Game Changer
AlphaZero's Groundbreaking Chess Strategies and the Promise of AI
Matthew Sadler - Feb 15, 2019
Goodreads Rating
It took AlphaZero only a few hours of self-learning to become the chess player that shocked the world. The artificial intelligence system, created by DeepMind, had been fed nothing but the rules of the Royal Game when it beat the world’s strongest chess engine in a prolonged match. The selection of ten games published in December 2017 created a wor...
Demis Hassabis
Sep 04, 2019
Congratulations to all of the authors on this year’s shortlist for @ecfchess book of the year, including @gmmds & @NatashaRegan123 for Game Changer, their brilliant book about #AlphaZero     source
Also recommended by
Berci Meskó
Creativity, Inc.
Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
Ed Catmull - Apr 08, 2014 (first published in 2009)
Goodreads Rating
“What does it mean to manage well?”From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a ma...
Demis Hassabis
Jun 09, 2018
Brilliant book     source
Consider Phlebas
Iain M. Banks - Mar 26, 2008 (first published in 1987)
Goodreads Rating
The first book in Iain M. Banks's seminal science fiction series, The Culture. Consider Phlebas introduces readers to the utopian conglomeration of human and alien races that explores the nature of war, morality, and the limitless bounds of mankind's imagination.The war raged across the galaxy. Billions had died, billions more were doomed. Moons, p...
Demis Hassabis
Apr 01, 2018
excited for this, Banks' Culture series is brilliant. Consider Phlebas is one of my favourite books, I read it back in the day when I was programming Theme Park, the cheat code for the game is 'Horza', the main character from the book...     source
Sapiens
A Brief History of Humankind
Yuval Noah Harari - May 15, 2018 (first published in 2011)
Goodreads Rating
100,000 years ago, at least six human species inhabited the earth. Today there is just one. Us. Homo sapiens. How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations and human rights; to trust money, books and laws; and to be ens...
Demis Hassabis
Jul 10, 2017
Really great book     source