Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

Jason Calacanis

entrepreneur
investor

Recommended Books

Jason McCabe Calacanis is an American Internet entrepreneur, angel investor, author and podcaster. His first company was part of the dot-com era in New York, and his second venture, Weblogs, Inc., a publishing company that he co-founded together with Brian Alvey, capitalized on the growth of blogs before being sold to AOL.
6 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
Idoru
William Gibson - Sep 09, 1996
Goodreads Rating
The eagerly awaited, mind-bending new novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Virtual Light and Neuromancer. Set in the 21st-century, postquake city of Tokyo, Idoru tells, with trademark Gibsonian innovation, the story of Rei Toei, the idoru, a media star loved by all Japan. But does she really, physically exist?...
Jason Calacanis
Feb 27, 2020
I love Idoru.     source
Who Is Michael Ovitz?
Michael Ovitz - Jul 18, 2019
Goodreads Rating
If you're going to read one book about Hollywood, this is the one.As co-founder of Creative Artists Agency (CAA), Michael Ovitz earned a reputation for ruthless negotiation, brilliant strategy and fierce loyalty to his clients. He reinvented the role of the agent and helped shape the careers of hundreds of A-list stars and directors, including Stev...
Jason Calacanis
I was blown away.     source
Red Notice
A True Story of High Finance, Murder, and One Man's Fight for Justice
Bill Browder - Oct 20, 2015 (first published in 2014)
Goodreads Rating
[Red Notice] does for investing in Russia and the former Soviet Union what Liars Poker did for our understanding of Salomon Brothers, Wall Street, and the mortgage-backed securities business in the 1980s. Browders business saga meshes well with the story of corruption and murder in Vladimir Putins Russia, making Red Notice an early candidate for an...
Jason Calacanis
One of my favorite books.     source
Also recommended by
Sean Lowe
Creativity, Inc.
Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
Ed Catmull - Apr 08, 2014 (first published in 2009)
Goodreads Rating
“What does it mean to manage well?”From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a ma...
Jason Calacanis
Pixar has made some of the greatest stories of our time, but the author’s personal story, is perhaps the greatest story that has come out of Pixar.     source
On Writing
Stephen King - Mar 01, 2012 (first published in 2000)
Goodreads Rating
Part memoir, part master class by one of the bestselling authors of all time, this superb volume is a revealing and practical view of the writer's craft, comprising the basic tools of the trade every writer must have. King's advice is grounded in the vivid memories from childhood through his emergence as a writer, from his struggling early career t...
Jason Calacanis
Got me jazzed up about writing and reading more.     source
Good to Great
Why Some Companies Make the Leap and Others Don't
Jim Collins - Oct 16, 2001
Goodreads Rating
To find the keys to greatness, Collins's 21-person research team read and coded 6,000 articles, generated more than 2,000 pages of interview transcripts and created 384 megabytes of computer data in a five-year project. The findings will surprise many readers and, quite frankly, upset others.The ChallengeBuilt to Last, the defining management study...
Jason Calacanis
The great management book.     source