Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksMy Library 0Sign In

George Raveling

athlete
sports coach

Recommended Books

George Henry Raveling is an American former college basketball player and coach. He played at Villanova University, and was the head coach at Washington State University, the University of Iowa, and the University of Southern California.
14 books on the list
Sort by
Latest Recommendations First
Layout
At Home with Muhammad Ali
A Memoir of Love, Loss and Forgiveness
Hana Yasmeen Ali - Sep 19, 2019
Goodreads Rating
From the daughter of Muhammad Ali comes an intimate portrait of the heavyweight boxing champion and a final love letter from a daughter to her father. Through audio journals, love letters and cherished memories, Ali's daughter Hana tells the story of a very typical and yet fully-unique family, the rise and fall of her parent’s marriage and the stru...
George Raveling
Jun 21, 2020
I highly recommend this book by Ali's daughter @Hanayali. The storytelling captures the legendary heavyweight boxing champion, Olympic Gold medalist, activist, and philanthropist as never before in this candid and intimate family memoir. Happy #FathersDay     source
Whiplash
How to Survive Our Faster Future
Joi Ito - Jan 08, 2019 (first published in 2016)
Goodreads Rating
"The future," as the author William Gibson once noted, "is already here. It's just unevenly distributed." WHIPLASH is a postcard from that future. The world is more complex and volatile today than at any other time in our history. The tools of our modern existence are getting faster, cheaper, and smaller at an exponential rate, just as billions of ...
George Raveling
The good Lord helped me discover this book.     source
Truth
How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality
Hector Macdonald - Mar 06, 2018
Goodreads Rating
For fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs.We like to think that there is a clear distinction between true and false. The reality is far murkier.Hector Macdonald has spent much of his career exploring the ways that two complet...
Tools of Titans
The Tactics, Routines, and Habits of Billionaires, Icons, and World-Class Performers
Timothy Ferriss - Dec 06, 2016
Goodreads Rating
The latest groundbreaking book from Tim Ferriss, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The 4-Hour Workweek.  From the author:   For the last two years, Ive interviewed nearly two hundred world-class performers for my podcast, The Tim Ferriss Show. The guests range from super celebs (Jamie Foxx, Arnold Schwarzenegger, etc.) and athletes (icon...
Ego Is the Enemy
Ryan Holiday - Jun 14, 2016
Goodreads Rating
“While the history books are filled with tales of obsessive, visionary geniuses who remade the world in their image with sheer, almost irrational force, I’ve found that history is also made by individuals who fought their egos at every turn, who eschewed the spotlight, and who put their higher goals above their desire for recognition.” – from the P...
George Raveling
One of the books that I’ve given away the most lately.     source
The Obstacle Is the Way
The Timeless Art of Turning Trials into Triumph
Ryan Holiday - May 01, 2014
Goodreads Rating
“The impediment to action advances action. What stands in the way becomes the way.” — Marcus AureliusWe are stuck, stymied, frustrated. But it needn’t be this way. There is a formula for success that’s been followed by the icons of history—from John D. Rockefeller to Amelia Earhart to Ulysses S. Grant to Steve Jobs—a formula that let them turn obst...
George Raveling
One of the books that I’ve given away the most lately.     source
Life Is So Good
George Dawson - May 07, 2013 (first published in 2000)
Goodreads Rating
One man’s extraordinary journey through the twentieth century and how he learned to read at age 98  “Things will be all right. People need to hear that. Life is good, just as it is. There isn’t anything I would change about my life.”—George Dawson  In this remarkable book, George Dawson, a slave’s grandson who learned to read at age 98 and lived to...
George Raveling
About a black young man who was a slave and, at 98 years old, he decides that he’s going to teach himself to write.     source
Steve Jobs
Walter Isaacson - Oct 24, 2011
Goodreads Rating
From the author of the bestselling biographies of Benjamin Franklin and Albert Einstein, this is the exclusive, New York Times bestselling biography of Apple co-founder Steve Jobs.Based on more than forty interviews with Jobs conducted over two years—as well as interviews with more than a hundred family members, friends, adversaries, competitors, a...
George Raveling
When I read this book I was so blown away. I had underlined about three-quarters of the book.     source
Einstein
His Life and Universe
Walter Isaacson - May 13, 2008
Goodreads Rating
How did Einstein's mind work? What made him a genius? Isaacson's biography shows how his scientific imagination sprang from the rebellious nature of his personality. His fascinating story is a testament to the connection between creativity and freedom.Based on the newly released personal letters of Albert Einstein, Walter Isaacson explores how an i...
George Raveling
Anybody who can write a book on Einstein and that an idiot like me can understand the physics was a miracle.     source
Kissinger
A Biography
Walter Isaacson - Sep 27, 2005 (first published in 1992)
Goodreads Rating
By the time Henry Kissinger was made secretary of state in 1973, he had become, according to the Gallup Poll, the most admired person in America and one of the most unlikely celebrities ever to capture the world's imagination. Yet Kissinger was also reviled by large segments of the American public, ranging from liberal intellectuals to conservative...
Benjamin Franklin
An American Life
Walter Isaacson - Jul 01, 2003
Goodreads Rating
In this authoritative and engrossing full-scale biography, Walter Isaacson, bestselling author of Einstein and Steve Jobs, shows how the most fascinating of America's founders helped define our national character.Benjamin Franklin is the founding father who winks at us, the one who seems made of flesh rather than marble. In a sweeping narrative tha...
George Raveling
I read this book and I am blown away and a little sad because I feel like, 'God damn, I went through all this education. No one ever taught me any of this stuff.'     source
The True Believer by Eric Hoffer
Blue Highways by William Least Heat Moon
The Mind by Yogi Bhajan