Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksListsMy Library 0Sign In

George Raveling

athlete
sports coach

Recommended Books

George Henry Raveling is an American former college basketball player and coach. He played at Villanova University, and was the head coach at Washington State University, the University of Iowa, and the University of Southern California.
13 books on this list
Sort by
Recommendation Date
Layout
Whiplash
How to Survive Our Faster Future
by Joi Ito (Jan 08, 2019)
Goodreads Rating
"The future," as the author William Gibson once noted, "is already here. It's just unevenly distributed." WHIPLASH is a postcard from that future. The world is more complex and volatile today than at any other time in our history. The tools of our modern existence are getting faster, cheaper, and smaller at an exponential rate, just as billions of ...
George Raveling
The good Lord helped me discover this book.     source
Truth
How the Many Sides to Every Story Shape Our Reality
by Hector Macdonald (Mar 06, 2018)
Goodreads Rating
For fans of Nudge, Sway, and The Art of Thinking Clearly, a fascinating dive into the many ways in which "competing truths" shape our opinions, behaviors, and beliefs.We like to think that there is a clear distinction between true and false. The reality is far murkier.Hector Macdonald has spent much of his career exploring the ways that two complet...
Tools of Titans
The Tactics, Routines, and Habits of Billionaires, Icons, and World-Class Performers
by Timothy Ferriss (Dec 06, 2016)
Goodreads Rating
The latest groundbreaking book from Tim Ferriss, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The 4-Hour Workweek.  From the author:   For the last two years, Ive interviewed nearly two hundred world-class performers for my podcast, The Tim Ferriss Show. The guests range from super celebs (Jamie Foxx, Arnold Schwarzenegger, etc.) and athletes (icon...
Ego Is the Enemy
by Ryan Holiday (Jun 14, 2016)
Goodreads Rating
“While the history books are filled with tales of obsessive, visionary geniuses who remade the world in their image with sheer, almost irrational force, I’ve found that history is also made by individuals who fought their egos at every turn, who eschewed the spotlight, and who put their higher goals above their desire for recognition.” – from the P...
George Raveling
One of the books that I’ve given away the most lately.     source
This book is also recommended by
Lenard McKelveyDerek SiversAubrey Marcus
The Obstacle Is the Way
The Timeless Art of Turning Trials into Triumph
by Ryan Holiday (May 01, 2014)
Goodreads Rating
“The impediment to action advances action. What stands in the way becomes the way.” — Marcus AureliusWe are stuck, stymied, frustrated. But it needn’t be this way. There is a formula for success that’s been followed by the icons of history—from John D. Rockefeller to Amelia Earhart to Ulysses S. Grant to Steve Jobs—a formula that let them turn obst...
George Raveling
One of the books that I’ve given away the most lately.     source
Life Is So Good
by George Dawson (May 07, 2013)
Goodreads Rating
One man’s extraordinary journey through the twentieth century and how he learned to read at age 98  “Things will be all right. People need to hear that. Life is good, just as it is. There isn’t anything I would change about my life.”—George Dawson  In this remarkable book, George Dawson, a slave’s grandson who learned to read at age 98 and lived to...
George Raveling
About a black young man who was a slave and, at 98 years old, he decides that he’s going to teach himself to write.     source
Steve Jobs
by Walter Isaacson (Oct 24, 2011)
Goodreads Rating
From the author of the bestselling biographies of Benjamin Franklin and Albert Einstein, this is the exclusive, New York Times bestselling biography of Apple co-founder Steve Jobs.Based on more than forty interviews with Jobs conducted over two years—as well as interviews with more than a hundred family members, friends, adversaries, competitors, a...
George Raveling
When I read this book I was so blown away. I had underlined about three-quarters of the book.     source
Einstein
His Life and Universe
by Walter Isaacson (May 13, 2008)
Goodreads Rating
How did Einstein's mind work? What made him a genius? Isaacson's biography shows how his scientific imagination sprang from the rebellious nature of his personality. His fascinating story is a testament to the connection between creativity and freedom.Based on the newly released personal letters of Albert Einstein, Walter Isaacson explores how an i...
George Raveling
Anybody who can write a book on Einstein and that an idiot like me can understand the physics was a miracle.     source
This book is also recommended by
Ed ZschauRay DalioMark Russinovich
Kissinger
A Biography
by Walter Isaacson (Sep 27, 2005)
Goodreads Rating
By the time Henry Kissinger was made secretary of state in 1973, he had become, according to the Gallup Poll, the most admired person in America and one of the most unlikely celebrities ever to capture the world's imagination. Yet Kissinger was also reviled by large segments of the American public, ranging from liberal intellectuals to conservative...
Benjamin Franklin
An American Life
by Walter Isaacson (Jul 01, 2003)
Goodreads Rating
In this authoritative and engrossing full-scale biography, Walter Isaacson, bestselling author of Einstein and Steve Jobs, shows how the most fascinating of America's founders helped define our national character.Benjamin Franklin is the founding father who winks at us, the one who seems made of flesh rather than marble. In a sweeping narrative tha...
George Raveling
I read this book and I am blown away and a little sad because I feel like, 'God damn, I went through all this education. No one ever taught me any of this stuff.'     source
The True Believer
Thoughts on the Nature of Mass Movements (Perennial Classics)
by Eric Hoffer (Sep 03, 2002)
Goodreads Rating
A stevedore on the San Francisco docks in the 1940s, Eric Hoffer wrote philosophical treatises in his spare time while living in the railroad yards. The True Believer -- the first and most famous of his books -- was made into a bestseller when President Eisenhower cited it during one of the earliest television press conferences.Completely relevant ...
George Raveling
This, to me, is one of the true classics of all time.     source
This book is also recommended by
Susan J. Fowler
Blue Highways
A Journey into America
by William Least Heat Moon (Oct 19, 1999)
Goodreads Rating
Hailed as a masterpiece of American travel writing, Blue Highways is an unforgettable journey along our nation's backroads.William Least Heat-Moon set out with little more than the need to put home behind him and a sense of curiosity about "those little towns that get on the map-if they get on at all-only because some cartographer has a blank space...
George Raveling
One that I read twice.     source
The Mind
Its Projections and Multiple Facets
by Yogi Bhajan (Jun 15, 1998)
Goodreads Rating
While many meditation and philosophy books talk about the need to master your mind, this book provides practical methods to show you how it's done. Discover a yogic approach to consciousness and psychology rooted in the teachings of Kundalini Yoga Master Yogi Bhajan, PhD. Over 40 illustrated meditations demonstrate techniques for directing, clearin...