Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Best Startup Books

Recommendations from 83 articles, Bill Gates, Elon Musk, Diddy and 280 others.
Best Startup Books
100 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
The Lean Startup book cover
The Lean Startup
How Today's Entrepreneurs Use Continuous Innovation to Create Radically Successful Businesses
Eric Ries - 2011-09-13
Goodreads Rating
Most startups fail. But many of those failures are preventable. The Lean Startup is a new approach being adopted across the globe, changing the way companies are built and new products are launched. Eric Ries defines a startup as an organization dedicated to creating something new under conditions of extreme uncertainty. This is just as true for on...
The Hard Thing About Hard Things book cover
The Hard Thing About Hard Things
Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers
Ben Horowitz - 2014-03-04
Goodreads Rating
A lot of people talk about how great it is to start a business, but only Ben Horowitz is brutally honest about how hard it is to run one.In The Hard Thing About Hard Things, Ben Horowitz, cofounder of Andreessen Horowitz and one of Silicon Valley's most respected and experienced entrepreneurs, draws on his own story of founding, running, selling, b...
Zero to One book cover
Zero to One
Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future
Peter Thiel - 2014-09-16
Goodreads Rating
If you want to build a better future, you must believe in secrets.The great secret of our time is that there are still uncharted frontiers to explore and new inventions to create. In Zero to One, legendary entrepreneur and investor Peter Thiel shows how we can find singular ways to create those new things. Thiel begins with the contrarian premise t...
Hooked book cover
Hooked
How to Build Habit-Forming Products
Nir Eyal - 2014-11-04 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
How do successful companies create products people cant put down?Why do some products capture widespread attention while others flop? What makes us engage with certain products out of sheer habit? Is there a pattern underlying how technologies hook us?Nir Eyal answers these questions (and many more) by explaining the Hook Modela four-step process e...
The Startup Owner's Manual book cover
The Startup Owner's Manual
The Step-By-Step Guide for Building a Great Company
Steve Blank - 2020-03-17 (first published in 2012)
Goodreads Rating
More than 100,000 entrepreneurs rely on this book for detailed, step-by-step instructions on building successful, scalable, profitable startups. The National Science Foundation pays hundreds of startup teams each year to follow the process outlined in the book, and it's taught at Stanford, Berkeley, Columbia and more than 100 other leading universi...
Recommended by
Hiten Shah
Founders at Work book cover
Founders at Work
Stories of Startups' Early Days
Jessica Livingston - 2008-09-16 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
Now available in paperback--with a new preface and interview with Jessica Livingston about Y Combinator!Founders at Work: Stories of Startups' Early Days is a collection of interviews with founders of famous technology companies about what happened in the very earliest days. These people are celebrities now. What was it like when they were just a c...
The 4-Hour Workweek book cover
The 4-Hour Workweek
Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich
Timothy Ferriss - 2009-12-15 (first published in 2007)
Goodreads Rating
More than 100 pages of new, cutting-edge content. Forget the old concept of retirement and the rest of the deferred-life plan there is no need to wait and every reason not to, especially in unpredictable economic times. Whether your dream is escaping the rat race, experiencing high-end world travel, earning a monthly five-figure income with zero ma...
The $100 Startup book cover
The $100 Startup
Reinvent the Way You Make a Living, Do What You Love, and Create a New Future
Chris Guillebeau - 2012-05-08
Goodreads Rating
In The $100 Startup, Chris Guillebeau shows you how to lead of life of adventure, meaning and purpose – and earn a good living.   Still in his early thirties, Chris is on the verge of completing a tour of every country on earth – he’s already visited more than 175 nations – and yet he’s never held a “real job” or earned a regular paycheck.  Rather,...
The Innovator's Dilemma book cover
The Innovator's Dilemma
When New Technologies Cause Great Firms to Fail
Clayton M. Christensen - 2016-01-05 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
The bestselling classic on disruptive innovation, by renowned author Clayton M. Christensen. His work is cited by the world’s best-known thought leaders, from Steve Jobs to Malcolm Gladwell. In this classic bestseller—one of the most influential business books of all time—innovation expert Clayton Christensen shows how even the most outstanding com...
Creativity, Inc. book cover
Creativity, Inc.
Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
Ed Catmull - 2014-04-08 (first published in 2009)
Goodreads Rating
“What does it mean to manage well?”From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a ma...
Crossing the Chasm book cover
Crossing the Chasm
Geoffrey A. Moore - 2006-08-01
Good To Great by Jim Collins
Start with Why by Simon Sinek
How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie
The Four Steps to the Epiphany by Steve Blank
Rework by Jason Fried
Traction by Gabriel Weinberg
The E-Myth Revisited by Michael E. Gerber
Checklist Manifesto by Atul Gawande
Venture Deals by Brad Feld
Tools of Titans by Timothy Ferriss
The Art of the Start 2.0 by Guy Kawasaki
Never Split the Difference by Chris Voss
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey
The Founder's Dilemmas by Noam Wasserman
High Output Management by Andrew S. Grove
Who by Geoff Smart
Influence by Robert B. Cialdini
Lean Analytics by Alistair Croll
Shoe Dog by Phil Knight
Measure What Matters by John Doerr
Crushing It! by Gary Vaynerchuk
Business Model Generation by Alexander Osterwalder
Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert T Kiyosaki
Originals by Adam Grant
Built to Sell by John Warrillow
Hacking Growth by Sean Ellis
Never Too Late to Startup by Rob Kornblum
Predictable Revenue by Aaron Ross
Mastering the VC Game by Jeffrey Bussgang
Growth Hacker Marketing by Ryan Holiday
Thrive by Arianna Huffington
Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill
Lost and Founder by Rand Fishkin
Grit by Angela Duckworth
Radical Candor by Kim Scott
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Built to Last by Jim Collins
Will It Fly? by Pat Flynn
Enchantment by Guy Kawasaki
Atomic Habits by James Clear
Secrets of Sand Hill Road by Scott Kupor
Don't Make Me Think by Steve Krug
Blue Ocean Strategy by W. Chan Kim
Ego Is the Enemy by Ryan Holiday
The 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing by Al Ries
Deep Work by Cal Newport
The Mom Test by Rob Fitzpatrick
Awaken the Giant Within by Tony Robbins
The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg
Delivering Happiness by Tony Hsieh
The Personal MBA by Josh Kaufman
The Entrepreneur Mind by Kevin D. Johnson
Do More Faster by Brad Feld
Running Lean by Ash Maurya
Start Something That Matters by Blake Mycoskie
The Power of Broke by Daymond John
The Entrepreneur Roller Coaster by Darren Hardy
Contagious by Jonah Berger
Permission Marketing by Seth Godin
Screw It, Let's Do It by Richard Branson
You Are a Badass at Making Money by Jen Sincero
Principles by Ray Dalio
Extreme Ownership by Jocko Willink
The Mythical Man-Month by Frederick P. Brooks Jr.
Only the Paranoid Survive by Andrew S. Grove
The Obstacle Is the Way by Ryan Holiday
Traction by Gino Wickman
Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman
Value Proposition Design by Alexander Osterwalder
The ONE Thing by Gary Keller
The Everything Store by Brad Stone
Mindset by Carol S. Dweck
Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell
The War of Art by Steven Pressfield
Positioning by Al Ries
Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook by Gary Vaynerchuk
Simple Numbers, Straight Talk, Big Profits! by Greg Crabtree
Startup CEO, + Website by Matt Blumberg
The Startup Checklist by David S. Rose
The 7 Day Startup by Dan Norris
Scaling Up by Verne Harnish
Explosive Growth by Cliff Lerner
The 10X Rule by Grant Cardone
Company of One by Paul Jarvis
THE ENTREPRENEURIAL BIBLE TO VENTURE CAPITAL by Andrew Romans
The Motivation Myth by Jeff Haden
Lucky Or Smart? by Bo Peabody
Leading at the Speed of Growth by Katherine Catlin
Viral Loop by Adam L. Penenberg