Search for books, people and lists
Read This Twice
HomePeopleBooksLibrariesSign In

Best Startup Books

Recommendations from 71 articles, Bill Gates, Elon Musk, Diddy and 249 others.
89 books on the list
Sort by
Number of Articles
Layout
The Lean Startup
How Today's Entrepreneurs Use Continuous Innovation to Create Radically Successful Businesses
Eric Ries - Sep 13, 2011
Goodreads Rating
Most startups fail. But many of those failures are preventable. The Lean Startup is a new approach being adopted across the globe, changing the way companies are built and new products are launched. Eric Ries defines a startup as an organization dedicated to creating something new under conditions of extreme uncertainty. This is just as true for on...
The Hard Thing About Hard Things
Building a Business When There Are No Easy Answers
Ben Horowitz - Mar 04, 2014
Goodreads Rating
A lot of people talk about how great it is to start a business, but only Ben Horowitz is brutally honest about how hard it is to run one.In The Hard Thing About Hard Things, Ben Horowitz, cofounder of Andreessen Horowitz and one of Silicon Valley's most respected and experienced entrepreneurs, draws on his own story of founding, running, selling, b...
Zero to One
Notes on Startups, or How to Build the Future
Peter Thiel - Sep 16, 2014
Goodreads Rating
If you want to build a better future, you must believe in secrets.The great secret of our time is that there are still uncharted frontiers to explore and new inventions to create. In Zero to One, legendary entrepreneur and investor Peter Thiel shows how we can find singular ways to create those new things. Thiel begins with the contrarian premise t...
Hooked
How to Build Habit-Forming Products
Nir Eyal - Nov 04, 2014 (first published in 2013)
Goodreads Rating
How do successful companies create products people cant put down?Why do some products capture widespread attention while others flop? What makes us engage with certain products out of sheer habit? Is there a pattern underlying how technologies hook us?Nir Eyal answers these questions (and many more) by explaining the Hook Modela four-step process e...
The 4-Hour Workweek
Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich
Timothy Ferriss - Dec 15, 2009 (first published in 2007)
Goodreads Rating
More than 100 pages of new, cutting-edge content. Forget the old concept of retirement and the rest of the deferred-life plan there is no need to wait and every reason not to, especially in unpredictable economic times. Whether your dream is escaping the rat race, experiencing high-end world travel, earning a monthly five-figure income with zero ma...
The $100 Startup
Reinvent the Way You Make a Living, Do What You Love, and Create a New Future
Chris Guillebeau - May 08, 2012
Goodreads Rating
In The $100 Startup, Chris Guillebeau shows you how to lead of life of adventure, meaning and purpose – and earn a good living.   Still in his early thirties, Chris is on the verge of completing a tour of every country on earth – he’s already visited more than 175 nations – and yet he’s never held a “real job” or earned a regular paycheck.  Rather,...
Start with Why
How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action
Simon Sinek - Dec 27, 2011 (first published in 2009)
Goodreads Rating
"A powerful and penetrating exploration of what separates great companies and great leaders from the rest." -Polly LaBarre, coauthor of Mavericks at Work Why are some people and organizations more innovative, more influential, and more profitable than others? Why do some command greater loyalty?In studying the leaders who've had the greatest influe...
Founders at Work
Stories of Startups' Early Days
Jessica Livingston - Sep 16, 2008 (first published in 2001)
Goodreads Rating
Now available in paperback--with a new preface and interview with Jessica Livingston about Y Combinator!Founders at Work: Stories of Startups' Early Days is a collection of interviews with founders of famous technology companies about what happened in the very earliest days. These people are celebrities now. What was it like when they were just a c...
The Innovator's Dilemma
When New Technologies Cause Great Firms to Fail
Clayton M. Christensen - Jan 05, 2016 (first published in 1997)
Goodreads Rating
The bestselling classic on disruptive innovation, by renowned author Clayton M. Christensen. His work is cited by the world’s best-known thought leaders, from Steve Jobs to Malcolm Gladwell. In this classic bestseller—one of the most influential business books of all time—innovation expert Clayton Christensen shows how even the most outstanding com...
Crossing the Chasm
Marketing and Selling High-Tech Products to Mainstream Customers
Geoffrey A. Moore - Aug 01, 2006 (first published in 1991)
Goodreads Rating
Here is the bestselling guide that created a new game plan for marketing in high-tech industries. Crossing the Chasm has become the bible for bringing cutting-edge products to progressively larger markets. This edition provides new insights into the realities of high-tech marketing, with special emphasis on the Internet. It's essential reading for ...
Creativity, Inc.
Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration
Ed Catmull - Apr 08, 2014 (first published in 2009)
Goodreads Rating
“What does it mean to manage well?”From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a ma...
How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie
Rework by Jason Fried
Checklist Manifesto by Atul Gawande
Traction by Gabriel Weinberg
The E-Myth Revisited by Michael E. Gerber
Tools of Titans by Timothy Ferriss
The Four Steps to the Epiphany by Steve Blank
The Art of the Start 2.0 by Guy Kawasaki
Never Split the Difference by Chris Voss
Venture Deals by Brad Feld
Influence by Robert B. Cialdini
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey
High Output Management by Andrew S. Grove
Shoe Dog by Phil Knight
Who by Geoff Smart
Originals by Adam Grant
Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert T Kiyosaki
Mastering the VC Game by Jeffrey Bussgang
Growth Hacker Marketing by Ryan Holiday
Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill
Crushing It! by Gary Vaynerchuk
Grit by Angela Duckworth
Business Model Generation by Alexander Osterwalder
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Hacking Growth by Sean Ellis
Never Too Late to Startup by Rob Kornblum
Lean Analytics by Alistair Croll
Don't Make Me Think by Steve Krug
Measure What Matters by John Doerr
Ego Is the Enemy by Ryan Holiday
Deep Work by Cal Newport
The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg
Delivering Happiness by Tony Hsieh
Built to Sell by John Warrillow
The Personal MBA by Josh Kaufman
The Entrepreneur Mind by Kevin D. Johnson
The Founder's Dilemmas by Noam Wasserman
Built to Last by Jim Collins
Running Lean by Ash Maurya
Will It Fly? by Pat Flynn
Start Something That Matters by Blake Mycoskie
The Power of Broke by Daymond John
Contagious by Jonah Berger
You Are a Badass at Making Money by Jen Sincero
Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg
Enchantment by Guy Kawasaki
Thrive by Arianna Huffington
Principles by Ray Dalio
Atomic Habits by James Clear
Only the Paranoid Survive by Andrew S. Grove
Blue Ocean Strategy by W. Chan Kim
The Obstacle Is the Way by Ryan Holiday
The ONE Thing by Gary Keller
The 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing by Al Ries
Radical Candor by Kim Scott
Traction by Gino Wickman
The War of Art by Steven Pressfield
The Everything Store by Brad Stone
Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell
Awaken the Giant Within by Tony Robbins
Lost and Founder by Rand Fishkin
Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook by Gary Vaynerchuk
Simple Numbers, Straight Talk, Big Profits! by Greg Crabtree
The 7 Day Startup by Dan Norris
Do More Faster by Brad Feld
Scaling Up by Verne Harnish
The 10X Rule by Grant Cardone
Predictable Revenue by Aaron Ross
Company of One by Paul Jarvis
Getting Things Done by David Allen
Explosive Growth by Cliff Lerner
The Art of War by Sun Tzu
Permission Marketing by Seth Godin
Screw It, Let's Do It by Richard Branson
The Motivation Myth by Jeff Haden
Lucky Or Smart? by Bo Peabody
Leading at the Speed of Growth by Katherine Catlin
Viral Loop by Adam L. Penenberg